AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
nmiller33
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-12-2012
Message 1 of 11 (603 Views)

Assembly with Depressed Median

603 Views, 10 Replies
11-12-2012 08:51 AM

Hello All,

I've never used Civil 3D before and I've been trying to teach myself to give myself an edge on a Transportation Design Project.

Anyways, what I'm trying to figure out is how to create an assembly of a divided highway with a depressed median.

If I understand correctly I need the lanes to be in place first before I can correctly insert the depressed median.

My question is how do I get the lanes offset from the assembly baseline so that I can insert the median between them?

This may be a dumb question but I've been researching and using trial and error with MarkPoints and the depressed median for hours without any luck.

Any help is appreciated,

Nathan

Core i7-2600K @4.8GHz
2x Nvidia GTX 570
16 GB 1600mHz DDR3
2x 64GB OCZ Agility 3 Raid-0
1TB WD Caviar Black
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,872
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 11 (598 Views)

Re: Assembly with Depressed Median

11-12-2012 09:15 AM in reply to: nmiller33

You should be able to place a median on the assembly and have lanes attach to the median.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
Member
nmiller33
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-12-2012
Message 3 of 11 (584 Views)

Re: Assembly with Depressed Median

11-12-2012 11:52 AM in reply to: jmayo

I can successfully place a median of any type other than a Depressed Median.

When you right click on the Depressed Median and click help the first thing that it tells you is.

 

"This subassembly creates a cross-sectional representation of a depressed median between the attachment point and a previously named marked point.

Use the MarkPoint subassembly first if the connecting point has not already been marked."

Core i7-2600K @4.8GHz
2x Nvidia GTX 570
16 GB 1600mHz DDR3
2x 64GB OCZ Agility 3 Raid-0
1TB WD Caviar Black
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,872
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 11 (577 Views)

Re: Assembly with Depressed Median

11-12-2012 12:13 PM in reply to: nmiller33

There are better corridor modelers here than I but you can select the assembly, right click and choose Add Offset. I think with this method you will need profiles for the edges of pavement and the centerline. If the model was built from a CL profile of the median I might simply build my own median with generic links to avoid the need for the EOP profiles.

 

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,966
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 5 of 11 (564 Views)

Re: Assembly with Depressed Median

11-12-2012 03:04 PM in reply to: nmiller33

It appears that the depressed median requires a marked point. I just cant get the conceptp on marked point through my thick scull so hopefully someone will chime in.

 

if I had to guess you tgl would have offset assemblies and you create the MP in one of them.

 

Depressed Median Help

 

depressed med.PNG

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,133
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 6 of 11 (554 Views)

Re: Assembly with Depressed Median

11-12-2012 05:45 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Here's an example from a drawing that I will be using at AU.  The important thing as noted earlier is that the marked point must be above the depressed median on the Construction tab.

 

Clipboard01.png

 

 

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,966
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 7 of 11 (539 Views)

Re: Assembly with Depressed Median

11-13-2012 04:14 AM in reply to: sboon

Thanks Steve.

 

Too bad I can't make AU this year. Best of luck with your class. I look forward to the tape.

 

Our fire wall prevents me from DL dwg file would you be able to email to me? jbouza<at><cameronengineering><dot><com>

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,872
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 8 of 11 (532 Views)

Re: Assembly with Depressed Median

11-13-2012 06:09 AM in reply to: sboon

Excellent. Thanks Steve. Have fun at AU.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,133
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 9 of 11 (512 Views)

Re: Assembly with Depressed Median

11-13-2012 06:41 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

On the way.  Check your email.

Member
nmiller33
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-12-2012
Message 10 of 11 (488 Views)

Re: Assembly with Depressed Median

11-14-2012 01:14 PM in reply to: nmiller33

Hey, Thanks for everyone's help and ideas.

Here is what I ended up coming up with for my assembly.  I used LinkOffset to offset the lanes and then a MarkedPoint on the right side so that my mark point would be on the edge of the right inside lane and my attach point is on the edge of the left inside lane.

My professor said only to put curb and gutter on outside but I have heard different opinions on this. Just curious to see what you'll think.

If anyone wants the file with the complete cooridor just let me know. I can't attach it because it is too large.

Thanks again, Nathan 

  

Assembly.jpg

Core i7-2600K @4.8GHz
2x Nvidia GTX 570
16 GB 1600mHz DDR3
2x 64GB OCZ Agility 3 Raid-0
1TB WD Caviar Black
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.