AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
StephenP9
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎04-02-2014
Message 1 of 6 (161 Views)

Assembilies for T-Shaped Intersections

161 Views, 5 Replies
05-09-2014 07:46 AM

Hi,

 

I'm currently upgrading a portion of road with two intersecting roads off of it. I have built a corridor but it's not what it should look like. I believe the problem is my assembilies, i am currently only using two assembilies: 1 for my main road and 1 one for the intersecting roads. I'm fairly new to the Civil 3D world and have been getting by with online videos and posts. My question is how many (full/half section) assembilies should i be using when creating a t-shaped intersection?

 

Thanks,

*Expert Elite*
doni49
Posts: 1,803
Registered: ‎12-22-2012
Message 2 of 6 (124 Views)

Re: Assembilies for T-Shaped Intersections

05-09-2014 05:58 PM in reply to: StephenP9

Welcome to the forum!

 

Take a look at this video.  I think it should be helpful.

 

http://au.autodesk.com/au-online/classes-on-demand/class-catalog/2012/autocad-civil-3d/few-roads-lea...

 

Here's one snippet from the video.

 

IntersectionCorridorAssembliesNeeded.png

Don Ireland



If a reply solves your issue, please remember to click on "Accept as Solution". This will help other users looking to solve a similar issue. Thank you.






Forum links:
AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015
AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoLISP, VB and other AutoCAD customization


Civil 3D General
Civil 3d Customization


Other Helpful links:
My File is too large to post!
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,286
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 3 of 6 (118 Views)

Re: Assembilies for T-Shaped Intersections

05-09-2014 09:47 PM in reply to: StephenP9
How many assemblies you will need depends on the geometry. For a perpendicular intersection which is the best case scenario you will need:

1 full assembly for each road (optional?)
1 curb return assembly for the lt and rt side of the int.
1 lane only assembly for each road.

If the intersection is skewed you will need more. If the edge assemblies are different at the ends of the curb returns you will need more. Any scenario with variations requires more.
Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,286
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 4 of 6 (114 Views)

Re: Assembilies for T-Shaped Intersections

05-09-2014 10:11 PM in reply to: doni49

You only need half sections if the intersection has a blended crown. If the crown is maintained thru the int then you don't need a half lane.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,286
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 5 of 6 (112 Views)

Re: Assembilies for T-Shaped Intersections

05-09-2014 10:16 PM in reply to: Neilw
Supplement: In a crown-thru int. you would need a full lane with an edge on one side. In a blended you would need a 1/2 section. So add one more assembly to the best case scenario.
Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,286
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 6 of 6 (111 Views)

Re: Assembilies for T-Shaped Intersections

05-09-2014 10:19 PM in reply to: Neilw

You don't need a lane only assembly for the best case scenario with crown thru. Instead you would need a Lane with one edge for the main road.

I am fatigued from 10 hours sleep in 3 days.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.