Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ASE Civil vs. AutoCAD Civil 3D

10 REPLIES 10
Message 1 of 11
DArdt
1189 Views, 10 Replies

ASE Civil vs. AutoCAD Civil 3D

We’ve scheduled representatives for ASE Civil to come over and give us a demo next week. Originally, we were told they will be making a Civil 3D compatible version and that’s why we’ve been holding off from getting this program. When we talked with them this morning, it looks like they want to compete with Civil 3D and hinted that we use their program instead of upgrading from LDD 2006 to Civil 3D. Since I am new to Civil 3D, having done one year in Carlson’s SurvCADD 2006 on AutoCAD 2005, I am not familiar enough to make this analysis yet.

Here’s what they e-mailed us regarding how their program stacks up against Civil 3D:

All of our current clients own licenses to LDD & Civil 3D, and after careful evaluation, even by outside software analysts contracted to compare the two programs, the top firms in Arizona, which is the fastest-growing state in America, have chosen to use ASE Civil to develop paving and grading design & production for residential and commercial projects. In fact in some of those firms it’s actually a design standard. However, they still utilize LDD and/or Civil 3D for tasks that ASE Civil has not yet developed tools for.

Based on client feedback, here are a few of the reasons why our clients choose ASE Civil. These are things you can do with ASE Civil that you cannot do with LDD or Civil 3D:

PROFILES