AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
wings1080
Posts: 118
Registered: ‎07-18-2013
Message 1 of 13 (236 Views)
Accepted Solution

Areas of Elevation Bands

236 Views, 12 Replies
01-22-2014 11:23 AM

hi there!

 

i have a bathymetry map that I need the total square footage areas for the following depth bands

 

shallowest to 39

39-42

42-45

45 to deepest

 

any ideas?  is there an easy way?

 

see the attached image, i would need a sum total of the square footage for the CYAN and the GREEN each

 

THANKS!

You can get an area by adding/creating a legend table: elevation.  You can find the legend table either in the ribbon tab if you have the surface selected or under the surface menu "Add Legend Table..."

 

Depending on how your table style is setup, you can add a field for "Surface Range 2D Area".  Hope this helps!

 

 

*Expert Elite*
wfberry
Posts: 1,936
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Message 2 of 13 (192 Views)

Re: Areas of Elevation Bands

01-23-2014 06:03 AM in reply to: wings1080

Perhaps Murph will sneak in here shortly, but it appears to me that you could use Raster Design to select pixel colors.  Believe me, this is as far as I can go.

 

Bill

 

 

Contributor
ericvallejo7526
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎07-09-2007
Message 3 of 13 (189 Views)

Re: Areas of Elevation Bands

01-23-2014 06:13 AM in reply to: wings1080

You can get an area by adding/creating a legend table: elevation.  You can find the legend table either in the ribbon tab if you have the surface selected or under the surface menu "Add Legend Table..."

 

Depending on how your table style is setup, you can add a field for "Surface Range 2D Area".  Hope this helps!

 

 

Eric Vallejo, LSI
Missman, Inc.
Civil 3D 2014, SP2
Windows 7 Professional, 64-bit
Distinguished Contributor
wings1080
Posts: 118
Registered: ‎07-18-2013
Message 4 of 13 (184 Views)

Re: Areas of Elevation Bands

01-23-2014 06:17 AM in reply to: wfberry
wow, can you say a little more about the raster/pixel approach?
Distinguished Contributor
wings1080
Posts: 118
Registered: ‎07-18-2013
Message 5 of 13 (182 Views)

Re: Areas of Elevation Bands

01-23-2014 06:17 AM in reply to: ericvallejo7526
this is exactly what i was hoping for!!!

would it be possible for you to please describe the steps in doing this?
Contributor
ericvallejo7526
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎07-09-2007
Message 6 of 13 (175 Views)

Re: Areas of Elevation Bands

01-23-2014 06:40 AM in reply to: wings1080

Assuming your surface is created and ranges are set, you will next need to set up the table style:

  1. Go to "Settings" tab in your Toolspace
  2. Under Surface --> Table Styles -->Elevation  there should be a table style (assuming these styles were never set up, it will most likely be "Standard")
  3. Right Click and "Edit.." OR "Copy..." the style
  4. In the "Table Style" dialog box, go to the "Data Properties" tab
  5. To create a field for your specific need, click on the "+" (plus sign) to add a new field
  6. You may have to scroll to the right to see the blank field, click in the emtpy "Column Value" box
  7. Go to the "Properties" tab, then under "Properties:" select "Surface Range 2D Area" and edit any desired "Values"
  8. Click the Arrow "-->" to input the field into the Column, then Click OK

This will populate the "Column Value". You will just need to add a "Header", then edit your table based on how detailed you want to get.

Eric Vallejo, LSI
Missman, Inc.
Civil 3D 2014, SP2
Windows 7 Professional, 64-bit
Distinguished Contributor
wings1080
Posts: 118
Registered: ‎07-18-2013
Message 7 of 13 (168 Views)

Re: Areas of Elevation Bands

01-23-2014 08:35 AM in reply to: ericvallejo7526

ugh, i am using civil 3d 2012, is it possible we have different dialog boxes?  see attached screen shot ... i don't see a "properties" tab as you describe in step 7

Distinguished Contributor
wings1080
Posts: 118
Registered: ‎07-18-2013
Message 8 of 13 (160 Views)

Re: Areas of Elevation Bands

01-23-2014 08:46 AM in reply to: wings1080
also, ranges aren't set, how do i do this please?
Contributor
ericvallejo7526
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎07-09-2007
Message 9 of 13 (154 Views)

Re: Areas of Elevation Bands

01-23-2014 08:53 AM in reply to: wings1080

In step 6. you will need to click in the empty Column Value box; in there you will see the properties tab.

 

You will set your elevation ranges, color etc. via the surface properties, under the Analysis tab.

 

 

Eric Vallejo, LSI
Missman, Inc.
Civil 3D 2014, SP2
Windows 7 Professional, 64-bit
Distinguished Contributor
wings1080
Posts: 118
Registered: ‎07-18-2013
Message 10 of 13 (153 Views)

Re: Areas of Elevation Bands

01-23-2014 08:56 AM in reply to: wings1080

i think i may have figured it out, can someone please tell me how to interpret these numbers?  (see attached)

 

for speaking purposes, number 5 which is 43' to 44', what is the 12,164.09 area????

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.