AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
demus72
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎09-07-2006
Message 1 of 6 (319 Views)
Accepted Solution

area in acres from line label

319 Views, 5 Replies
11-15-2012 08:48 AM

Is it possible to insert a formula or is there an existing expression I could use to calculate area in acres from a General Overall Length line label if I input the width?

 

Thank you

Create a new General Line label exprssion, call it "Area of 50 foot wide easement". Use this exprssion:

11-15-2012 9-53-29 AM.png

 

In the label style, add the exprssion into the text component, formatted for Acres:

11-15-2012 9-55-57 AM.png

 

and the result:

11-15-2012 9-56-51 AM.png

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,187
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 2 of 6 (314 Views)

Re: area in acres from line label

11-15-2012 09:29 AM in reply to: demus72

{General Overall Area}/43560

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Distinguished Contributor
demus72
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎09-07-2006
Message 3 of 6 (309 Views)

Re: area in acres from line label

11-15-2012 09:47 AM in reply to: demus72

Thanks for the reply Joe. I'm not real experienced with expressions so I'll explain what I am trying to do. I have a distance label style set up for line segments. The lines I am labeling represent the centerlines of 50 foot wide easements. What I would like the label to report is the segment length and area in acres based on the segment length. I need a formula or expression to multiply the reported segment length by 50 and then divide by 43560 and have this acreage reported in my label.

 

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,519
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 4 of 6 (306 Views)

Re: area in acres from line label

11-15-2012 09:57 AM in reply to: demus72

Create a new General Line label exprssion, call it "Area of 50 foot wide easement". Use this exprssion:

11-15-2012 9-53-29 AM.png

 

In the label style, add the exprssion into the text component, formatted for Acres:

11-15-2012 9-55-57 AM.png

 

and the result:

11-15-2012 9-56-51 AM.png

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Distinguished Contributor
demus72
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎09-07-2006
Message 5 of 6 (298 Views)

Re: area in acres from line label

11-15-2012 10:17 AM in reply to: Jeff_M

Eureka! Joe got me on the right track and thanks to you Jeff I was able to make it work. The part I was missing was the "Format results as" in the Edit Expression window. Now that I have it set to "Area", it works.

 

Now, is there any way I can make this area part of the label not print?

 

Thank you Joe and Jeff,

Have a good day.

*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,519
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 6 of 6 (295 Views)

Re: area in acres from line label

11-15-2012 10:24 AM in reply to: demus72

On the Format tab of the Text Component Editor, change the color for this component to be 255. Most plotters will not plot this as it is essentially white.

 

If you find a response which answers your question, please be sure to accept the actual post which helped you as the solution. This will help future searchers quickly find answers to their own questions. Thanks!

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.