AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
New Member
jswany82
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-22-2009
Message 11 of 18 (401 Views)

Re: Are you experiencing recurring crashes? If so, we'd like to hear from you.

08-13-2012 02:02 PM in reply to: Karen_Dowling

We just upgraded to 2013 Civil 3D from 2011 Civil 3D.  We sometimes work with large files (40mb to 60mb), and had been having problems with Autocad crashing.  We had good luck upgrading our computers, which solved almost all of our problems while we were using 2011. 

 

Since we've upgraded to 2013 Civil 3D, we're back to the same problem.  Autocad freezes, then crashes (seemingly at random).  Typically we don't even have a crash report.  It's only with larger files, but our computers should not be the problem.  It's very frustrating as we lose a lot of time that we don't have.  Even if Autosave recovers some of our work, we have to figure out what wasn't saved.

 

Please let me know if there's anything I can do to help solve this problem.  Thanks.

Justin

New Member
j.stokes
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-08-2006
Message 12 of 18 (386 Views)

Re: Are you experiencing recurring crashes? If so, we'd like to hear from you.

08-14-2012 05:22 AM in reply to: Karen_Dowling

Good morning Karen

I was having challenges with C3D13 crashing when closing the program.

My friend Seth in Manchester suggested applying this hotfix: http://usa.autodesk.com/getdoc/id=DL20100771

So far so good...

Hope this helps others.

Contributor
tsaxy2k8
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎05-11-2010
Message 13 of 18 (333 Views)

Re: Are you experiencing recurring crashes? If so, we'd like to hear from you.

11-27-2012 12:01 PM in reply to: Karen_Dowling

Afternoon Karen,

 

Hopefully you're still doing this.  I"m having severe issues with Civil 3D 2013.  Issues like crashes during save at 93%, after I've replaced a structure or a style of a structure, or just flat out moved the structure in pipe networks.  Doesn't matter what I do it crashes.

 

Also Pressure networks issues causing save issues as well.  So it's not just a Pipe network issue.

 

If you can help please let me know.

 

Heidi B.

 

Yes I'm filing a CER every time it happens.

Employee
Karen_Dowling
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎01-29-2009
Message 14 of 18 (324 Views)

Re: Are you experiencing recurring crashes? If so, we'd like to hear from you.

11-27-2012 01:04 PM in reply to: jswany82

Hi Heidi,

I would be happy to take a look at what might be going on.  Would you mind if we corresponded by email rather than on this thread?

 

Please email me at karen.dowling@autodesk.com and we can begin.

 

Thanks,

Karen Dowling, Quality Analyst

Autodesk, Inc.


Karen Dowling
Sr. Quality Analyst
Autodesk, Inc
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,814
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 15 of 18 (319 Views)

Re: Are you experiencing recurring crashes? If so, we'd like to hear from you.

11-27-2012 01:23 PM in reply to: Karen_Dowling

Given the current Cloud "buzzwords" and direction that Autodesk seems to be going, its a great shame that when attempting to access 360 in Civil 3D I get a crash every time. I have raised a support ticket but no resolution and have submitted all the CER's.

 

I have got a swf video of what happens but can't upload to this forum

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Valued Contributor
HansSMS
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎07-18-2012
Message 16 of 18 (309 Views)

Re: Are you experiencing recurring crashes? If so, we'd like to hear from you.

11-27-2012 04:56 PM in reply to: Karen_Dowling

I have crashes using using Civil 3D 2013 with

 

1. The AUDIT command, the software just hangs up.

 

2. With Trimble Link, I just have to press the export surface button, and AutoCAD crashes. Other Trimble Link functions act the same way, it only takes a few more button pushes, dialogs etc to get to the crash.

 

3. I've had crashes dragging cogo point labels.Seems to occur with points that have no elevation, but the label style includes an elevation field.

 

4. Some drawings just seem to get crashy, running a RECOVER works if the report indicates errors found, if no errors reported the problem hasn't been solved so I start a new drawing and copy drawing elements bit by bit, save over the old drawing and the crashing stops.

 

Have to admit I stopped completing the crash reports years ago because of no feedback ever, eventually just believed they went into a bit bucket at Autodesk, so why bother.

 

Generally a lot of the progress indicators seem to have been removed, and I sometimes don't know whether the software has hung up or is just taking a while to work through a task.

 

Previously used to run AutoCAD 2012 on a HP Pavilion DV7 2014tx 8GB RAM 2x500GB HDDs, Win7, purchased August 2009.

 

I've now moved to a Clevo Metabox using an Intel i7 3720QM 2.6Ghz 8 core, 16GB RAM, Nvidia GeForce GTX 680M 4GB, 256GB SSD and second 740GB hybrid drive.

 

Apart from a startling improvement in start-up time for AutoCAD Civil 3D from 2 minutes+ down to about 15 seconds, the crashes have reduced down to an (equally startling) less than 10% (!!) of what I experienced before, to the point where (apart from the Trimble Link BS) crashing is not really a major problem as was the case with for example the Civil 3D 2007 release.

 

Guess I'm saying bad hardware does have an effect, something I never really appreciated before. The previous Hewlett Packard hardware I had was just substandard, the machine cost me $3700 at the time, just took for granted it was a good machine.

 

We have 8 Dell computers with I5 processors, 8GB RAM running Civil 3D in my survey office with some crappy video cards, not ideal machines, but somehow I get far less reports of crashing than expected.

 

 

Just my two cents worth.... Don’t know if it helps.

 

 

Hans Moller

Lead Surveyor

Bechtel GLNG Plant, Gladstone Australia.

+61 7 48368310

hmoller@bechtel.com

 

Hans Moller
Surveying & Management Services
Gladstone Australia
Clevo Metabox 16GB, Intel i7-3720QM 3.1Ghz, 256GB SSD, Nvidia GTX 680M
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013
Valued Mentor
gccdaemon
Posts: 462
Registered: ‎09-14-2010
Message 17 of 18 (203 Views)

Re: Are you experiencing recurring crashes? If so, we'd like to hear from you.

08-14-2013 12:27 PM in reply to: jswany82

I am recieving crashes in 2013 as well as 2014. Refer to this thread.

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Civil-3D/Importing-eTransmit-Settings-Crash/td-p/4363219

Andrew Ingram

Civil 3D x64 2012
Win 7 x64 Ultimate
I7 3820 (3.6ghz quad core with HT)
32gig RAM (Corsair XMS3 4x8g)
Intel x z79 mobo (BOXDX79TO 2011 socket)
Radeon HD 7850 2gb GDDR5
Employee
Karen_Dowling
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎01-29-2009
Message 18 of 18 (201 Views)

Re: Are you experiencing recurring crashes? If so, we'd like to hear from you.

08-14-2013 12:42 PM in reply to: gccdaemon
Hi,
Thanks for contacting Autodesk about this issue. I am happy to take a look at this with you. Can you please tell me if you have sent in Customer Error Reports for this crash? If so, could you let me know what email address you use in that correspondence?

Thanks,
Karen

Karen Dowling, Senior Quality Analyst
ICP Horizontal Services

Autodesk, Inc.
100 Commercial Street
Manchester, NH 03101

Direct 603 621 3184
Mobile 603 264 2925

[Description: Description: Description: Description: autodesk-logo-rgb-color-logo-black-text-small]

Karen Dowling
Sr. Quality Analyst
Autodesk, Inc
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.