AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
52 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-19-2011
Post 1 of 8
Accepted Solution

Anyway to convert a group of Lines to Polylines

482 Views, 7 Replies
11-01-2012 11:28 AM

On several occasions I have had to convert a group of lines to polylines but had to select and convert each line one after the other. Instead of one after another is there a way or a command to select all the lines and convert them as group into polylines?

Type pedit, select multiple, pick all of the lines you want to convert, type Y when asked if you want to convert them to polylines, exit command.

Valued Contributor
68 Posts
6 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
Post 2 of 8

Re: Anyway to convert a group of Lines to Polylines

11-01-2012 11:35 AM in reply to: wizengr

Type pedit, select multiple, pick all of the lines you want to convert, type Y when asked if you want to convert them to polylines, exit command.

Mark Castle
Civil 3D 2014, SP1
Win 8.1 64-Bit, 8 GB RAM
Core 2 Duo 6400, Quadro FX 580
*Expert Elite*
2,872 Posts
266 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Post 3 of 8

Re: Anyway to convert a group of Lines to Polylines

11-01-2012 02:30 PM in reply to: wizengr

Even easier (if you are on 2012 or later - or was it 2011?); Grab the lines and type J at the command line.

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
*Expert Elite*
5,255 Posts
326 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Post 4 of 8

Re: Anyway to convert a group of Lines to Polylines

11-01-2012 02:57 PM in reply to: BrianHailey

and get what?

 

I'm left with lines. Is there more to it?

 

j.PNG

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Distinguished Contributor
128 Posts
9 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-23-2008
Post 5 of 8

Re: Anyway to convert a group of Lines to Polylines

11-02-2012 11:16 AM in reply to: wizengr

To convert the lines into polylines, they have to be touched end to end .  the pedit command will turn the series of lines into one pline, not multiple

 

Surveyor Lee

 

*Expert Elite*
5,255 Posts
326 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Post 6 of 8

Re: Anyway to convert a group of Lines to Polylines

11-02-2012 11:19 AM in reply to: SurveyorLee

Thats only to join them. PEDIT M will convert a collection of geometry

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
9,796 Posts
1,210 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Post 7 of 8

Re: Anyway to convert a group of Lines to Polylines

11-02-2012 11:22 AM in reply to: wizengr

Hi,

 

and if you want to do some cleanup don't forget you have the Map3D-functionality included, therefor the command _MAPCLEAN (>>>details<<<) can help a lot!

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
2,872 Posts
266 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Post 8 of 8

Re: Anyway to convert a group of Lines to Polylines

11-04-2012 02:44 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Joe-Bouza wrote:

and get what?

 

I'm left with lines. Is there more to it?

 

j.PNG


My bad. I missread the original question. To join them, use J. To simply convert them, use MPEDIT (you can select them first and then run MPEDIT whereas if you run PEDIT you must select them after the fact).

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post