AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
New Member
AKoerner
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-01-2012
Message 1 of 8 (194 Views)

anyone using a 32-bit OS?

194 Views, 7 Replies
07-25-2012 03:53 PM

Someone recently asked me 'do you know if anyone is still using 32-bit operating systems with Civil 3D?'...I know of very few (if any) still doing so but it made me curious...so...is anyone out there still using a 32-bit OS?  Anyone still stuck on XP???  hopefully not Vista... :smileywink:

 

Adam Koerner

Civil Power Tools LLC

http://www.civil3dpowertools.com

 

i7-2600K oc @ 4.4GHz (and still running stable/cool...)

16GB RAM (1600MHz)

AMD 6850 2GB Triple Monitor (24-27-24)

Win7x64

Valued Mentor
ericcollins6932
Posts: 332
Registered: ‎05-13-2010
Message 2 of 8 (173 Views)

Re: anyone using a 32-bit OS?

07-26-2012 07:01 AM in reply to: AKoerner

Yep, see the SIG below

Eric Collins, P.Tech.(Eng.)

Win 7 Enterprise SP1 64 bit
Intel i7 3770 @ 3.40 GHz
16 GB RAM
Civil 3D 2012 SP2
*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,133
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 3 of 8 (154 Views)

Re: anyone using a 32-bit OS?

07-26-2012 10:08 AM in reply to: ericcollins6932

There are a few of our people still on 32 bit OS because of the survey processing software that they have to use.

Valued Mentor
owenmull
Posts: 356
Registered: ‎09-06-2011
Message 4 of 8 (152 Views)

Re: anyone using a 32-bit OS?

07-26-2012 10:16 AM in reply to: sboon

32-bit? Eww, that's just gross.

-Owen
Windows 7 x 64 bit
NVidia Quadro K3000M Dual Monitor
32.0 GB RAM
Intel Core i7-3820QM @ 2.70 GHz
Civil 3D 2013 SP 2
______________________________________________________________
Usually, I find that the problem is between the keyboard and the chair.
Valued Mentor
ericcollins6932
Posts: 332
Registered: ‎05-13-2010
Message 5 of 8 (139 Views)

Re: anyone using a 32-bit OS?

07-26-2012 12:22 PM in reply to: sboon

Really? There are IT solutions for that - compatibility mode, etc.

 

 

Eric Collins, P.Tech.(Eng.)

Win 7 Enterprise SP1 64 bit
Intel i7 3770 @ 3.40 GHz
16 GB RAM
Civil 3D 2012 SP2
*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,520
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 6 of 8 (134 Views)

Re: anyone using a 32-bit OS?

07-26-2012 01:30 PM in reply to: ericcollins6932

Me too.  :smileysad:


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

*Expert Elite*
Sinc
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 7 of 8 (112 Views)

Re: anyone using a 32-bit OS?

07-26-2012 10:04 PM in reply to: sboon

SBoon wrote:

There are a few of our people still on 32 bit OS because of the survey processing software that they have to use.


Get them off of that!

 

The difference between survey process software (Stringer, Carlson, Civil 3D) has become so inconcequential that, if you're using C3D for Engineering, it's by far easier to use C3D for Survey, too, so you match your Engineering team.  (Well, I also use the Sincpac-C3D, so maybe that makes it much easier for me to use C3D for Surveying...)

 

There are major reasons I say get off of that old software.  I'm not sure what you're using, but we can easily spend 4 hours doing what we used to take 3-5 days to do in Land Desktop.  So GET OFF of that old software!  You'll make a lot more money for your company, once you work out what you pay in salary+compensation vs. work performed.

Sinc
*Expert Elite*
MarySeufert
Posts: 581
Registered: ‎04-19-2011
Message 8 of 8 (94 Views)

Re: anyone using a 32-bit OS?

07-27-2012 08:47 AM in reply to: ericcollins6932

ericcollins6932 wrote:

There are IT solutions for that 


To name the first few that cross my mind....

  • Windows XP Mode - Part of Windows7 Professional, Ultimate and Enterprise
  • VMware Workstation - a must have IMHO for testing software
  • Windows Virtual PC - for those unfortunate few running Vista

~ Mary


_______________________________________________________________________
Normal people believe that if it ain't broke, don't fix it.
Software Engineers believe that if it ain't broke, it doesn't have enough features yet.
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.