AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
johnthoreson
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎10-24-2012
Message 1 of 3 (133 Views)

Annotative blocks visible in some paperspaces, but not all

133 Views, 2 Replies
12-12-2012 04:27 PM

I copied two annotative, dynamic blocks from the paperspace of drawing A and pasted them into the paperspace of drawing B.

 

The blocks were visibile in drawing A, but not in B.  The layers for the blocks were turned on.  The annotation scale of each paperspace is 1" = 1' (which is all it can be, right?).

 

When I set the variable ANNOALLVISIBLE to 1 in drawing B, the blocks became visible.  I checked drawing A and the variable was set to 0, yet the blocks were visible.   

 

Any ideas what's going on?  Why weren't the blocks visible after being pasted into drawing B?  

John Thoreson
C3D 2013
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,884
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 2 of 3 (132 Views)

Re: Annotative blocks visible in some paperspaces, but not all

12-12-2012 04:36 PM in reply to: johnthoreson

I have seen wierd things like this and determined that some blocks had named scales that were not in the other drawings.

 

But what puzzles me more; why does a dyno block in PS 1:1 need to be annotative?

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Active Contributor
johnthoreson
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎10-24-2012
Message 3 of 3 (107 Views)

Re: Annotative blocks visible in some paperspaces, but not all

12-13-2012 02:49 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

The named scales issue makes sense, however I think something else is going on.  

 

I looked at the range of annotative scales in drawings A and B and as far as I can tell, they're the same (I went to model space and looked at the scale bar near the bottom of the screen).  The annotative scale of the block matches one of the scales listed in the drawings too (1"=1'), but will only show up in drawing A with ANNOALLVISIBLE set to 0.

 

I tried unchecking the Annotative Behavior box under the Block Definition window in drawing A and wasn't allowed to redfine the block since it references itself.  

 

Funny thing is, I was able to uncheck the box in drawing B, and now it shows up with ANNOALLVISIBLE set to 0.   

 

This block came to me from another consultant's drawing, so I don't know why it has to be annotative in paperspace either.  I suppose the goal was to have a single north arrow block that could be used in either model or paperspace.

John Thoreson
C3D 2013
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.