AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
onsionsi1
Posts: 150
Registered: ‎10-19-2011
Message 1 of 5 (167 Views)

Alignment(Compound Spiral in Loop)

167 Views, 4 Replies
05-09-2012 04:05 AM

Hi evreyone 

Can someone help me how to draw an alignment for the attached file

I have two main road one of the is tangent and other one is spiral so i would like to draw loops with S-C-S

I face many problems to draw that in attached file

So how can i do that in civil 3d 2012

 

Your advice will be appreciate.

 

Thank you.

Please do not forget approve as solutions and Points
to Remember Please Accept as Solution and Kudos Please
Employee
peterfunkautodesk
Posts: 720
Registered: ‎08-25-2009
Message 2 of 5 (161 Views)

Re: Alignment(Compound Spiral in Loop)

05-09-2012 05:36 AM in reply to: onsionsi1

Start by drawing the tangents. Make sure they are going the correct directions. The second tangent won't station after it is drawn because it isn't connected to the alignment.

 

Second, use the SCS element to connect the end of the first tangent to the start of the second. There is an option to allow the curve to be greater than 180 degrees, use that to produce the loops that you need.

 

Cheers,

 

Peter Funk

Autodesk, Inc.



Peter Funk
Autodesk, Inc.

Mentor
onsionsi1
Posts: 150
Registered: ‎10-19-2011
Message 3 of 5 (158 Views)

Re: Alignment(Compound Spiral in Loop)

05-09-2012 05:53 AM in reply to: peterfunkautodesk

Thank you Mr. Peter for your reply

But my issue here is how to attach S-C-S to Spiral and tangent (both edges are spiral and tangent)

For your advice

 

Thank you

Please do not forget approve as solutions and Points
to Remember Please Accept as Solution and Kudos Please
Employee
peterfunkautodesk
Posts: 720
Registered: ‎08-25-2009
Message 4 of 5 (156 Views)

Re: Alignment(Compound Spiral in Loop)

05-09-2012 06:04 AM in reply to: onsionsi1

OK, I mistook the spiral as a tangent.

 

The SCS element will only work between two tangents. If you want a dynamic solution than you're going to have to make a short (very short) tangent at the start of the out spiral.

 

If you know the values of all the curves and the spirals then you can use the floating and fixed elements to build up the loop.

 

Regards,

 

Peter Funk

Autodesk, Inc.



Peter Funk
Autodesk, Inc.

Mentor
onsionsi1
Posts: 150
Registered: ‎10-19-2011
Message 5 of 5 (152 Views)

Re: Alignment(Compound Spiral in Loop)

05-09-2012 06:49 AM in reply to: peterfunkautodesk

Thank for your advice and i will try this solution

 

Please do not forget approve as solutions and Points
to Remember Please Accept as Solution and Kudos Please
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.