AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
lorrie.bundy
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎02-24-2003
Message 1 of 8 (227 Views)
Accepted Solution

alignment begin station inherited from another alignment

227 Views, 7 Replies
08-08-2012 11:30 AM

Can I inherit the station from one alignment as the begin station for another alignment?

 

For example. Alignment 1 is 1000 ft long and starts at sta 0+00.

At sta 8+01, Alignment 2 begins and goes off in another direction.

I manually enter 8+01 for begin station Alignment 2. Life is good.

 

Still in the design stage, and customer needs to modify Alignment 1 to avoid something.

Now Alignment 2 intersects Alignment 1 at sta 8+15, but same N/E coordinates.

I manually enter 8+15 for begin station Alignment 2.

Life is no longer good.

 

It would be better if Alignment 2 could inherit the begin station based on the new stationing from Alignment 1.

Any suggestions?

I typically find that it works far better to have completely independent stationing for each Alignment, to avoid confusion.  for example, if your first Alignment is going from 1+00 to 30+00 (for example), a second Alignment that stubs off of that might use 100+00 to 110+00.  A third might use 200+00 to 250+00.

 

This approach completly removes any possibility of mixing up stationing during construction, and makes everything much clearer.  And there's no need to change stationing on your stubs should your main line change geometry.

Product Support
Matt_Haokip
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎05-27-2011
Message 2 of 8 (185 Views)

Re: alignment begin station inherited from another alignment

08-10-2012 01:22 PM in reply to: lorrie.bundy

Hi Lorrie,

 

I do not think it will be possible, since these alignments are independent entities and they could not be made intelligent to know where one starts and other ends.

 

Thanks,

If my post answers your question, please mark it as an Accepted Solution, so that others can find answers quickly!



Matt Haokip
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,125
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 3 of 8 (178 Views)

Re: alignment begin station inherited from another alignment

08-10-2012 05:27 PM in reply to: lorrie.bundy

Instead of two alignments have you considered one and adding Station Equations?

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
wfberry
Posts: 1,917
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Message 4 of 8 (169 Views)

Re: alignment begin station inherited from another alignment

08-11-2012 06:20 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Joe:

 

Why have an equation, ending station and beginning are the same.

 

Bill

 

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,125
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 5 of 8 (163 Views)

Re: alignment begin station inherited from another alignment

08-11-2012 07:34 AM in reply to: wfberry

Hi Bill

 

I thought if he edits the first portion of the alignment then maintaining/ revising the beginning of part two would be a simpler task, I thought. Maybe not ? These are only thoughts. I never put into practice:smileyhappy:

 

 

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
Sinc
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 6 of 8 (153 Views)

Re: alignment begin station inherited from another alignment

08-11-2012 05:03 PM in reply to: lorrie.bundy

I typically find that it works far better to have completely independent stationing for each Alignment, to avoid confusion.  for example, if your first Alignment is going from 1+00 to 30+00 (for example), a second Alignment that stubs off of that might use 100+00 to 110+00.  A third might use 200+00 to 250+00.

 

This approach completly removes any possibility of mixing up stationing during construction, and makes everything much clearer.  And there's no need to change stationing on your stubs should your main line change geometry.

Sinc
Contributor
lorrie.bundy
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎02-24-2003
Message 7 of 8 (113 Views)

Re: alignment begin station inherited from another alignment

08-13-2012 09:32 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

I don't know how (or if it is appropriate) to make 2 diverging alignments one single alignment.

Contributor
lorrie.bundy
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎02-24-2003
Message 8 of 8 (112 Views)

Re: alignment begin station inherited from another alignment

08-13-2012 09:35 AM in reply to: Sinc

Thank you Sinc. I will use your protocol and move on.

 

Thank you all for the suggestions.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!