AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
tommcgtx
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎01-22-2010
Message 1 of 5 (464 Views)

Alignment and labels layout visibility

464 Views, 4 Replies
07-10-2012 10:18 AM

I have created an alignment, and have the stationing labels on a different layer than the actual alignment linework. I have frozen the layer with the alignment on it in a viewport, but not the layer with the labels. However, when I regen, the labels disappear. I need to have the labels visible, and the linework off. Anyone know what causes this?

Active Contributor
JOVO85
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎03-27-2012
Message 2 of 5 (462 Views)

Re: Alignment and labels layout visibility

07-10-2012 10:34 AM in reply to: tommcgtx

There are two layers assigned to all C3D objects, a main layer that by default encompasses multiple types of C3d objects (for example alignment & alignment labels) and then there are "sub" layers that are controlled in the alignment style. In your base drawing right click the alignment and select "Edit Alignment Style" then click the Display tab and you will find the name of the alignment style layers. The same goes for Aligment Label Style layers.

 

Take note of the style layer names because in your layout you will want to freeze the specific layers in the layer manager as opposed to selecting them in the drawing which is freezing all of your alignment objects. 

 

I personally wish there was a simpler way to manage this without single entities being tied to two different layers but once you get used to it it becomes managable. It helps to have your styles set up properly and having knowledge of layering used in each style. We, as a company, are attacking our style creation from several users as we approach them so it definitely becomes confusing at times.

Joseph-

Civil 3D 2012
Windows 7 Service Pack 1
Intel Core i7-2600 CPU
16GB RAM

Valued Contributor
tommcgtx
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎01-22-2010
Message 3 of 5 (456 Views)

Re: Alignment and labels layout visibility

07-10-2012 10:53 AM in reply to: tommcgtx

I changed all of the layers in the settings, in alignment styles, label styles, and label sets, and it is still behaving the same. Is there something I'm missing? I may just change the color to plot out as something you can barely see, but I would like to know what needs to change for this to work properly.

Active Contributor
JOVO85
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎03-27-2012
Message 4 of 5 (454 Views)

Re: Alignment and labels layout visibility

07-10-2012 10:59 AM in reply to: tommcgtx

Try going into drawing utilities>Drawing Setting>Object Layers and make sure that your alignment objects aren't on the same layer as your alignment-labeling, by default they are all on layer "0"

 

Screen.jpg

Joseph-

Civil 3D 2012
Windows 7 Service Pack 1
Intel Core i7-2600 CPU
16GB RAM

Valued Contributor
tommcgtx
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎01-22-2010
Message 5 of 5 (444 Views)

Re: Alignment and labels layout visibility

07-10-2012 12:00 PM in reply to: tommcgtx

I changed those, they were set to 0, and it is still the same way.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.