AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
JAY25
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-13-2012
Message 1 of 3 (256 Views)

Adding Building levels to existing ground

256 Views, 2 Replies
10-12-2012 01:31 AM

I have an existing ground surface with all different z co-ords and im trying to add three proposed buildings to my exisiting ground with all the builidngs having a level of 32.5 as a minimum, however at some points the ground is higher than 32.5 and I only want to raise my existing ground to 32.5 within the proposed buidling layout if it is below 32.5 as im doing a flood calculation. What do i need to for this? Thanks.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,100
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 3 (253 Views)

Re: Adding Building levels to existing ground

10-12-2012 01:44 AM in reply to: JAY25

Hi,

 

I would do the following steps:

  • create a user-spezified contour at 32.5
  • extract that contours to get polylines (command _AeccSurfaceExtractObjects)
  • copy your EG-surface
  • use the extracted contours to make islands in the copied surface
  • now you can raise up the copied surface

 

HTH, - alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,992
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 3 of 3 (221 Views)

Re: Adding Building levels to existing ground

10-12-2012 03:24 PM in reply to: JAY25

Changing existing ground is a sure way to make any grading problem go away :smileywink:

 

Surley I jest, but typicaly we don'r change existing ground we build on it and cut into it - two different models. Then they can be combined.

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.