AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
rhdins
Posts: 295
Registered: ‎05-25-2005
Message 1 of 11 (1,313 Views)
Accepted Solution

Add Block or symbol to alignment label?

1313 Views, 10 Replies
07-31-2012 08:38 AM

This is what I'm trying to achieve, except with a Civil3D label.

 

Callout.png

 

I want to add the circle with the typical detail callout to an alignment label.  I can format the text just fine, but can't figure out any way to add a symbol to a label.  For example, I was thinking I would create a "water meter" style with the correct number for water meters, so there would be a block or something attached to the label.

 

Any suggestions on how to do this?

I made this one with two text components and a line component.  It doesn't appear as though a block is necessary.

I did notice however the block component is also available for this type of label.

 

 

 

 

the circle is one of the border shapes you can put around a text component.   just set border to true and select circle instead of rectangle.

 

 

*Pro
dgordon
Posts: 1,474
Registered: ‎12-14-2006
Message 2 of 11 (1,307 Views)

Re: Add Block or symbol to alignment label?

07-31-2012 10:16 AM in reply to: rhdins

I made this one with two text components and a line component.  It doesn't appear as though a block is necessary.

I did notice however the block component is also available for this type of label.

 

 

 

 

Dan

Civil 3D 2013
Win 7 Pro x64
Intel Xeon 2.0GHz
12Gb Ram
ATI Firepro 4800
Dell T5500
www.preinnewhof.com
Valued Mentor
IanMcClain
Posts: 453
Registered: ‎09-29-2008
Message 3 of 11 (1,306 Views)

Re: Add Block or symbol to alignment label?

07-31-2012 10:16 AM in reply to: rhdins

I believe you can add blocks to a style in the Label Style composer. See attached.

 

 

-Ian McClain
(running C3D 2012 sp4, Win7 64bit, 8GB)
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,990
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 4 of 11 (1,284 Views)

Re: Add Block or symbol to alignment label?

07-31-2012 11:47 AM in reply to: IanMcClain

I concur with your route, Ian

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Distinguished Contributor
rhdins
Posts: 295
Registered: ‎05-25-2005
Message 5 of 11 (1,279 Views)

Re: Add Block or symbol to alignment label?

07-31-2012 11:54 AM in reply to: dgordon

Thanks, I've been able to match that, except the circle.  How did you add the circle in your label?

Distinguished Contributor
rhdins
Posts: 295
Registered: ‎05-25-2005
Message 6 of 11 (1,273 Views)

Re: Add Block or symbol to alignment label?

07-31-2012 12:13 PM in reply to: IanMcClain

I also tried adding a block.  It worked, but I had some problems getting it to rotate to my viewport.  It seems like using a text object gives me a little more control.

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,990
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 7 of 11 (1,221 Views)

Re: Add Block or symbol to alignment label?

08-01-2012 06:18 AM in reply to: rhdins

Make a block of the circle and stick with the insert point where the leader will attach. In the lable composer add a block, select the one you made adjust your fields to where they belong

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Pro
dgordon
Posts: 1,474
Registered: ‎12-14-2006
Message 8 of 11 (1,177 Views)

Re: Add Block or symbol to alignment label?

08-02-2012 06:24 AM in reply to: rhdins

the circle is one of the border shapes you can put around a text component.   just set border to true and select circle instead of rectangle.

 

 

Dan

Civil 3D 2013
Win 7 Pro x64
Intel Xeon 2.0GHz
12Gb Ram
ATI Firepro 4800
Dell T5500
www.preinnewhof.com
Distinguished Contributor
rhdins
Posts: 295
Registered: ‎05-25-2005
Message 9 of 11 (1,168 Views)

Re: Add Block or symbol to alignment label?

08-02-2012 11:34 AM in reply to: dgordon

Thanks, I didn't notice that you could change the border shape.  That works perfectly.  This is the final result.

 

 

Typ Callout.png

New Member
mlreid23
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-11-2014
Message 10 of 11 (408 Views)

Re: Add Block or symbol to alignment label?

02-12-2014 04:44 AM in reply to: rhdins

How did you get your labels to rotate from left to right of the circle symbol? Is that an automatic setting?

 

Thanks,

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.