AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
coopdetat
Posts: 201
Registered: ‎03-25-2011
Message 1 of 14 (703 Views)

Active Viewport boundary highlight is offset

703 Views, 13 Replies
01-02-2013 06:52 AM

I've been putting up with this problem for a while. I have a certified 3D device with a driver version that is certified (Quadro 4000) but the active viewport boundary highlight is out of place. Does anyone else have this problem? Does anyone have a solution to this problem? The white lines in this image are my viewport boundary highlight which is out of position.  This only seems to happen when I turn off the viewport layer. If the viewport layer is on the highlight appears as expected.

vpframe.gif

---------------------------------------------Signature--------------------------------------------
Civil Design Professional Since 1983 (Intergraph), AutoCAD since 1989
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit - Service Pack 1
Intel﴾R﴿ Core﴾TM﴿ i7-3820 CPU 3.60GHz; 16 GB DDR3 Dual Channel RAM
nVidia Quadro 4000; AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014, sp1
*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,353
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 2 of 14 (691 Views)

Re: Active Viewport boundary highlight is offset

01-02-2013 07:46 AM in reply to: coopdetat

How is it out of position?  By the picture you attached, I don't see anything wrong.  Do you want you viewport larger? Not enough information here to diagnose the issue.

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
Mentor
coopdetat
Posts: 201
Registered: ‎03-25-2011
Message 3 of 14 (677 Views)

Re: Active Viewport boundary highlight is offset

01-02-2013 11:32 AM in reply to: TRogers

As soon as I looked at the image again in light of your reply I immediately saw it as you did.  I apologize for not making the situation clearer in my initial post.

 

Notice from the extent of the crosshairs and the position of the UCS Icon, both of which are to the left of the viewport highlight, that the viewport and the highlight do not match.  As I said, the viewport layer is turned off so you cannot see the viewport itself.  You can only see the highlight.  The actual viewport boundary is set at 0.05" inside the sheet border lines all around. It is cropped to a polyline that traces a notch for the revision block on the border sheet (not shown).  Only the lower left corner of the viewport is in the image.

---------------------------------------------Signature--------------------------------------------
Civil Design Professional Since 1983 (Intergraph), AutoCAD since 1989
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit - Service Pack 1
Intel﴾R﴿ Core﴾TM﴿ i7-3820 CPU 3.60GHz; 16 GB DDR3 Dual Channel RAM
nVidia Quadro 4000; AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014, sp1
*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,353
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 4 of 14 (669 Views)

Re: Active Viewport boundary highlight is offset

01-02-2013 11:37 AM in reply to: coopdetat

OOOOOhhhhh.  Now I see what you're talking about.  WOW, I have NEVER seen anything like this.  Drawing specific?

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,514
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 14 (667 Views)

Re: Active Viewport boundary highlight is offset

01-02-2013 11:41 AM in reply to: coopdetat

What are you calling the "active viewport boundary highlight"?

 

If I freeze my viewport layer (which I normally don't since it's on a no-plot layer) then there is no geometry to indicate where any viewports are. 

 

In the screenshot below, you can see my cursor cut off at the top, before it reaches the magenta border line - since that is where the viewport stops.

 

vp9.png

*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,353
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 6 of 14 (661 Views)

Re: Active Viewport boundary highlight is offset

01-02-2013 11:48 AM in reply to: rkmcswain

Hey Randy.  If you look at the guys pic, you can see that the active viewport is way off of where the actual viewport cuts off.  The crosshairs indicate that the border of the sheet is the viewport, but the active part is not near that. 

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,353
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 7 of 14 (658 Views)

Re: Active Viewport boundary highlight is offset

01-02-2013 11:49 AM in reply to: TRogers

Unless there might be a viewport on top of a viewport.

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,524
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 8 of 14 (657 Views)

Re: Active Viewport boundary highlight is offset

01-02-2013 11:49 AM in reply to: rkmcswain

I don't normally freeze or turn off the viewport layer either, but I just tested (in 2011) and I'm getting a different result from RKMcS.  I don't get a thick highlight, but I do get a box around the viewport.  So you don't see any viewport when you're in paperspace, then you click into model space and it appears.  It is drawn the same colour as you have the crosshairs set to.

I'm not seeing the 'offset' problem the OP has either.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,524
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 9 of 14 (652 Views)

Re: Active Viewport boundary highlight is offset

01-02-2013 11:50 AM in reply to: TRogers

Ctrl + R switches viewports.  That's got me out of a couple of issues with one on top of another.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

Mentor
coopdetat
Posts: 201
Registered: ‎03-25-2011
Message 10 of 14 (640 Views)

Re: Active Viewport boundary highlight is offset

01-02-2013 01:18 PM in reply to: rkmcswain

Hi R.K.,

I don't freeze the viewport layer, I just turn it off. Mine too are on a non-plot layer (CLG *NPLT*) which is used in my on/off macro.  I turn them off because I just don't like seeing anything that is not intended as plot output.  In the layer off condition, when I am in the viewport model space, AutoCAD presents a bold outline of the viewport (those white lines in my IP image) to indicate the view I am in. The highlighting is displayed when the viewport layer is turned on as well so off/on does not affect the highlighting.  The highlighting is helpful when there are multiple viewports, especially if they overlap.  I use CTRL+R to cycle through the active viewports on a layout when one is nested inside another which happens when I do a blow-up detail on a pipeline plan.  The highlight shows which is current.

In constructing and checking this explanation I realized that the problem happens only when the viewport layer is off and the viewport is clipped (has a polygonal boundary).  The problem boundary is orthogonal but it has 6 sides (a notch in the upper right corner).  It happens on all of my sheet layouts with that type of viewport.

Here is an example of the highlighting with model space above and paper space below, viewport layer is on in both images and there is a slight overlap of another viewport to the right:

VPHighlight.gif

I believe the highlight color always matches the viewport layer color.

---------------------------------------------Signature--------------------------------------------
Civil Design Professional Since 1983 (Intergraph), AutoCAD since 1989
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit - Service Pack 1
Intel﴾R﴿ Core﴾TM﴿ i7-3820 CPU 3.60GHz; 16 GB DDR3 Dual Channel RAM
nVidia Quadro 4000; AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014, sp1
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.