AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
tonnot
Posts: 317
Registered: ‎04-08-2008
Message 1 of 6 (149 Views)
Accepted Solution

A COGO point Z modification does nothing with surface out of date???

149 Views, 5 Replies
09-04-2013 09:28 AM

Hello i have a problem (a bug?)

I have a point group used in a surface. 

I click on a point, change its Z and .... nothing more ocurrs.

I have to click on surface, context - surface properties, click on accept and then ... yes the surface is now  showing the out of date . 

What is happend ? Thanks.

 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 


Civil 3D (2013) how much you have to improve....

Ahhhhh....the wonderful pseudo dynamic behaviour of Civil 3D...:smileyhappy:
*Expert Elite*
Jay_B
Posts: 2,532
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
Message 2 of 6 (145 Views)

Re: A COGO point Z modification does nothing with surface out of date???

09-04-2013 09:56 AM in reply to: tonnot

If you modify a point belonging to a point group used in the surface definition the "Point Group" containing the modified point must be updated before updating the surface.

Prospector>Point Groups heading>Rt Click>update (This will update all point groups at once.)

C3d has no means of Automatic "Point Group" update out of the box.

Jay

C3D 2014 SP2
Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,441
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 3 of 6 (138 Views)

Re: A COGO point Z modification does nothing with surface out of date???

09-04-2013 10:10 AM in reply to: tonnot

How are you editing the Z? If I just edit the elevation in the Properties dialog, I see the same thing you do and I need to update the PointGroup. However, if I select a point, right-click, choose Datum, then raise/lower the point by whatever amount to get the desired elevation, the surface updates immediately.

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Mentor
tonnot
Posts: 317
Registered: ‎04-08-2008
Message 4 of 6 (133 Views)

Re: A COGO point Z modification does nothing with surface out of date???

09-04-2013 10:22 AM in reply to: Jeff_M

U fffff

 

Both are right.... 

But what a unreliable behaviour, isn't it ?

Thanks

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 


Civil 3D (2013) how much you have to improve....

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,862
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 5 of 6 (112 Views)

Re: A COGO point Z modification does nothing with surface out of date???

09-04-2013 11:11 AM in reply to: tonnot
Ahhhhh....the wonderful pseudo dynamic behaviour of Civil 3D...:smileyhappy:
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 500Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
Jay_B
Posts: 2,532
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
Message 6 of 6 (82 Views)

Re: A COGO point Z modification does nothing with surface out of date???

09-05-2013 05:03 AM in reply to: tonnot

The post marked as "Accepted Solution" has nothing to do with a solution to the problem in the Original Post.

Jay

C3D 2014 SP2
Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.