AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
tonnot
Posts: 317
Registered: ‎04-08-2008
Message 1 of 6 (148 Views)
Accepted Solution

A COGO point Z modification does nothing with surface out of date???

148 Views, 5 Replies
09-04-2013 09:28 AM

Hello i have a problem (a bug?)

I have a point group used in a surface. 

I click on a point, change its Z and .... nothing more ocurrs.

I have to click on surface, context - surface properties, click on accept and then ... yes the surface is now  showing the out of date . 

What is happend ? Thanks.

 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 


Civil 3D (2013) how much you have to improve....

Ahhhhh....the wonderful pseudo dynamic behaviour of Civil 3D...:smileyhappy:
*Expert Elite*
Jay_B
Posts: 2,432
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
Message 2 of 6 (144 Views)

Re: A COGO point Z modification does nothing with surface out of date???

09-04-2013 09:56 AM in reply to: tonnot

If you modify a point belonging to a point group used in the surface definition the "Point Group" containing the modified point must be updated before updating the surface.

Prospector>Point Groups heading>Rt Click>update (This will update all point groups at once.)

C3d has no means of Automatic "Point Group" update out of the box.

Jay

C3D 2014 SP2
Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,405
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 3 of 6 (137 Views)

Re: A COGO point Z modification does nothing with surface out of date???

09-04-2013 10:10 AM in reply to: tonnot

How are you editing the Z? If I just edit the elevation in the Properties dialog, I see the same thing you do and I need to update the PointGroup. However, if I select a point, right-click, choose Datum, then raise/lower the point by whatever amount to get the desired elevation, the surface updates immediately.

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Mentor
tonnot
Posts: 317
Registered: ‎04-08-2008
Message 4 of 6 (132 Views)

Re: A COGO point Z modification does nothing with surface out of date???

09-04-2013 10:22 AM in reply to: Jeff_M

U fffff

 

Both are right.... 

But what a unreliable behaviour, isn't it ?

Thanks

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 


Civil 3D (2013) how much you have to improve....

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,811
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 5 of 6 (111 Views)

Re: A COGO point Z modification does nothing with surface out of date???

09-04-2013 11:11 AM in reply to: tonnot
Ahhhhh....the wonderful pseudo dynamic behaviour of Civil 3D...:smileyhappy:
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
Jay_B
Posts: 2,432
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
Message 6 of 6 (81 Views)

Re: A COGO point Z modification does nothing with surface out of date???

09-05-2013 05:03 AM in reply to: tonnot

The post marked as "Accepted Solution" has nothing to do with a solution to the problem in the Original Post.

Jay

C3D 2014 SP2
Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.