AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,295
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 1 of 19 (393 Views)
Accepted Solution

3D Section views of C3D models

393 Views, 18 Replies
05-17-2013 10:28 AM

I have the task of creating elevation views of a site. These views require that the model be clipped along a section line to crop the forground so it doesn't obstruct the view of the site.

 

I've experimented with the section plane tools in the 3D modeling workspace but I can't get a section view. I suspect it is because they don't work with C3D surface objects.

 

Does anyone have a workflow for this task? Ultimately I need to generate hard copies of the views for the architect to use for his landscape plans.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com

Neil, using the Camera command, you can place a camera by picking a point for the camera, picking a point for its target, then in the camera's properties, turn on clipping, front and back (or just front might be appropriate in your case.) This will enable special grips you can drag back and forth for front and back plane clipping. Save each view and then set views current in viewports for your printing.

*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,524
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 2 of 19 (384 Views)

Re: 3D Section views of C3D models

05-17-2013 10:54 AM in reply to: Neilw

Just from reading other conversations around here, I get the impressoin you have to create ACAD surfaces, not TIN surfaces.  As I understand it, you have to explode your TIN, then maybe somthing like this.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,295
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 3 of 19 (378 Views)

Re: 3D Section views of C3D models

05-17-2013 11:01 AM in reply to: troma

I've considered that workflow but I'm hoping there is a solution that doesn't require exploding my model.

 

I haven't investigated creating a clipping plane for a 3D view. While that doesn't create a stand alone section view I might be able to make use of viewports to achieve the goal. I have no experience working with clipping planes however so I don't know if it works with C3D surfaces.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,946
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 19 (370 Views)

Re: 3D Section views of C3D models

05-17-2013 11:15 AM in reply to: Neilw

If you only need a few of these I could see one copy of the original surface per section each using an outer boundary on the section line. You could set the srf style to project a grid to a datum.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
Valued Contributor
DaveDrahn
Posts: 63
Registered: ‎09-15-2012
Message 5 of 19 (359 Views)

Re: 3D Section views of C3D models

05-17-2013 11:33 AM in reply to: Neilw

How about good old DVIEW with front clipping on?

*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,295
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 6 of 19 (357 Views)

Re: 3D Section views of C3D models

05-17-2013 11:34 AM in reply to: jmayo

That's an innovative idea John. However I have other 3D objects in the site (trees, vehicles, etc) that also need to be clipped out of the foreground, so I'll need to find a solution that includes both C3D and generic objects.

 

So far I haven't figured out how to manipulate clipping planes to get the result. Theoretically it should be possible.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,295
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 7 of 19 (352 Views)

Re: 3D Section views of C3D models

05-17-2013 11:37 AM in reply to: DaveDrahn

I'm not familiar with clipping DVIEWS. Could you elaborate or direct to the proper help topic?

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,295
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 8 of 19 (341 Views)

Re: 3D Section views of C3D models

05-17-2013 11:52 AM in reply to: DaveDrahn

I looked up the help topic for DVIEW and I see it's potential. However I need some sort of visual feedback when setting up the clipping planes. I don't know if DVIEW provides that capability. 3D Orbit provides that visual feedback but I'm not understanding how the clipping planes work.

 

I'm thinking clipping planes are the best solution if it supports C3D objects. I'm having trouble understanding how to manipulate the clipping planes however. Perhaps someone with experience can run a test to see if it works with C3D surfaces. Otherwise I'll not invest time into learning it.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,646
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 9 of 19 (314 Views)

Re: 3D Section views of C3D models

05-17-2013 02:18 PM in reply to: Neilw

Neil, using the Camera command, you can place a camera by picking a point for the camera, picking a point for its target, then in the camera's properties, turn on clipping, front and back (or just front might be appropriate in your case.) This will enable special grips you can drag back and forth for front and back plane clipping. Save each view and then set views current in viewports for your printing.

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,295
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 10 of 19 (310 Views)

Re: 3D Section views of C3D models

05-17-2013 03:03 PM in reply to: tcorey

Hey Tim,

 

I think Camera is a winner. I'm experimenting with it now and if I get the desired results I'll toggle a solution.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.