Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

3d polylines

8 REPLIES 8
SOLVED
Message 1 of 9
Seth04
1278 Views, 8 Replies

3d polylines

I would like to know if it is possible to create a 3d polyline using cogo points without drawing a new polyline from point to point. In the past I used software that would allow me to put a cogo point with elevation along existing lines and arcs and convert them to 3d polylines. I am a Land Surveyor and I used this function frequently in the past to while creating stakeout files to avoid manually calculating grade along lines.

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
doni49
in reply to: Seth04

Certainly.

Home Tab>Draw Panel:

PolylinebyPtNumRange.png

When prompted for a range, enter your point numbers.  A few examples:

1-100 (This will draw polyline though all the points in this range).

1-10, 20-100 (this will SKIP points 11-19)

Don Ireland
Engineering Design Technician

If a reply solves your issue, please remember to click on "Accept as Solution". This will help other users looking to solve a similar issue. Thank you.

Please do not send a PM asking for assistance. That's what the forums are for. This allows everyone to benefit from the question asked and the answers given.

Message 3 of 9
doni49
in reply to: doni49

Also -- if you are wanting to SELECT the points (as opposed to typing in the range) then use "Create by Point Object" which is right below the point range option.

Don Ireland
Engineering Design Technician

If a reply solves your issue, please remember to click on "Accept as Solution". This will help other users looking to solve a similar issue. Thank you.

Please do not send a PM asking for assistance. That's what the forums are for. This allows everyone to benefit from the question asked and the answers given.

Message 4 of 9
Postmaster_G