Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

3d points and mapping

12 REPLIES 12
Message 1 of 13
SurveyorLee
533 Views, 12 Replies

3d points and mapping

Hi,

I am a surveyor in a multi-disciplined office.  There has been talk of working in 3d.  I have had lots of issues with 3d line work on general projects

For example, when you bring all the points in at elevation, and draw lines between them, we have issues with line patterns and querrying distances.

How are others handling this, or is there a setting to turn off the z? 

Surveyor Lee

12 REPLIES 12
Message 2 of 13

Try after setting variable OSNAPZ to 1

This will ignore Z value.

Or instead of drawing line , use polyline.

This will keep the starting elevation for all the points.

Message 3 of 13
rl_jackson
in reply to: SurveyorLee

I have been doing Survey only on both large and small sites in Civil 3D for quite some time now and insert everything in 3D.

You can set the OSNAPZ as previously posted, if you want to draw lines with no elevation (0 plane), but I have found that this needs to be set quite often, and just does not stay set. (Something I wish Adesk would fix)

From a survey presective the most important thing is to use the CGLIST command to get distances. I use it from the quick access toolbar at the top, and also added the CGLIST angle as well.

Rick Jackson
Survey CAD Technician VI

Did you find this post helpful? Feel free to Like this post.
Did your question get successfully answered? Then click on the ACCEPT SOLUTION button.

EESignature

Message 4 of 13
dgordon

the civil 3d points can be assigned a point style which flattens them to zero for drafting purposes while keeping the elevation stored in the point at it's original value. see attachment.
Dan

Civil 3D 2013
Win 7 Pro x64
Intel Xeon 2.0GHz
12Gb Ram