AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
S_G_I
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎01-30-2012
Message 1 of 21 (449 Views)
Accepted Solution

3D Face - Solid

449 Views, 20 Replies
02-27-2013 11:17 PM

Hello,

I want to show the topography of the surface I created.

A long time ago I changed some definitions and succeeded - see the attached picture.

The problem is I don't remember what I did :smileysad:

I think last time I found a button somewhere to switch to 3D view/model and then

the 3D Faces were suddenly displayed as semi-solids.

 

Could somebody please help me?

 

Thanks a lot,

S_G_I

 

There are many ways to get that, for instance:

 

_-VIEW => _NEISO

_SHADEMODE and choose one of the types 

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,681
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 2 of 21 (432 Views)

Re: 3D Face - Solid

02-28-2013 01:19 AM in reply to: S_G_I

There are many ways to get that, for instance:

 

_-VIEW => _NEISO

_SHADEMODE and choose one of the types 

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,807
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 3 of 21 (421 Views)

Re: 3D Face - Solid

02-28-2013 03:14 AM in reply to: S_G_I

Take a look at this blog post http://civilforautocad.blogspot.co.uk/2011/05/civil-3d-2012-little-things-part-two.html

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,965
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 4 of 21 (416 Views)

Re: 3D Face - Solid

02-28-2013 04:33 AM in reply to: S_G_I

First you have to have a Surface Style that displays triangles in the Model. From your image it looks like you'd want to set a Conceptual visual style. Then use 3D orbit or any other method of viewing it in 3D.

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,681
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 5 of 21 (408 Views)

Re: 3D Face - Solid

02-28-2013 04:43 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

AllenJessup wrote:

First you have to have a Surface Style that displays triangles in the Mode


Dear Allen,
you don't really need to do that.

Whatever the style, when you turn on a ISO view, Autocad shows itself in a TIN fashion, as you can see in this Map2006 screenshot:

 

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,982
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 6 of 21 (406 Views)

Re: 3D Face - Solid

02-28-2013 04:47 AM in reply to: S_G_I

Here is a graphic of what the other folks are describing. Granted my relief is not that pronounced

 

 

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,965
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 7 of 21 (400 Views)

Re: 3D Face - Solid

02-28-2013 04:55 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

Yes Antonio. You really do. In Civil 3D you need to have the triangles on. If they are off

 

tri.PNG

 

Then all you will see is contours in 3D

 

cont.PNG

 

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,681
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 8 of 21 (398 Views)

Re: 3D Face - Solid

02-28-2013 04:59 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

Got it, Allen, but my Map works as I described, and I'm surprised that Civil needs to change the style...

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,807
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 9 of 21 (395 Views)

Re: 3D Face - Solid

02-28-2013 05:03 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

As I have said many times before the Map that comes with Civil isn't quite the same as the boxed standalone version of Map - MapLT?

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,965
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 10 of 21 (390 Views)

Re: 3D Face - Solid

02-28-2013 05:11 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

antoniovinci wrote:

 I'm surprised that Civil needs to change the style...



It's an attempt to let the user set it up as they need. Sometimes you want to see the surface and sometimes you don't Civil styles are very different from Map or Autocad. Very powerful, very complicated.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.