AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
New Member
rkk_engineer
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-03-2010
Message 1 of 7 (559 Views)

3D Curve

559 Views, 6 Replies
11-03-2010 06:20 AM

How do I draw a 3-d curve in Civil 3D?  I have a curved alignment that has a horizontal curve and is also curved in the vertical direction.  I'm not sure how to draw this.  Can somebody help me?  Thank you

*Expert Elite*
Sinc
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 2 of 7 (543 Views)

Re: 3D Curve

11-03-2010 08:25 AM in reply to: rkk_engineer

If you're using Alignments, the vertical is defined using a Profile.

 

You can also use Feature Lines, which are a bit like a "light-weight Alignment", but those cannot have vertical curves.  A Feature Line can have a true horizontal curve, but as opposed to a Profile, a Feature Line can only straight-grade from grade break to grade break.

 

By contrast, a 3D Polyline cannot have curves in either horizontal or vertical directions, and all curves must be approximated using a series of short line segments.

Sinc
Mentor
civilspace
Posts: 249
Registered: ‎08-19-2010
Message 3 of 7 (538 Views)

Re: 3D Curve

11-03-2010 08:32 AM in reply to: rkk_engineer

*if* you needed a literal 3D curve, Sinc is right, you would need to approximate it using a series of segments.  The best way would be an alignment for the horizontal, profile for vertical, subassembly, corridor with a high frequency, extract a feature line from that.  

Regards,
Anthony
*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,767
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 4 of 7 (534 Views)

Re: 3D Curve

11-03-2010 08:41 AM in reply to: rkk_engineer

You can have a 3D curve, but it can't be an alignment/profile combination.  For example, you would create a feature line that is curved, you would have different elevations at each end of that curve...there is your 3d curve.

Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
Distinguished Mentor
OMCUSNR
Posts: 506
Registered: ‎04-28-2010
Message 5 of 7 (527 Views)

Re: 3D Curve

11-03-2010 09:25 AM in reply to: rkk_engineer

I'm thinking you'll need to run a cooridor, create a surface, then view it in 3d view.  You'd be able to see the resulting centerline that way.

 

 

Homebuilt box: I5-2500k, MSI P67A-GD65, 12gig DDR3 1600 ram, ASUS ENGTX460 Video card, WD Velociraptor WD4500HLHX HD, Win 7 64 pro.
Mentor
civilspace
Posts: 249
Registered: ‎08-19-2010
Message 6 of 7 (523 Views)

Re: 3D Curve

11-03-2010 09:30 AM in reply to: OMCUSNR

I love it - 4 people saying the same thing.

Regards,
Anthony
New Member
rkk_engineer
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-03-2010
Message 7 of 7 (482 Views)

Re: 3D Curve

11-04-2010 04:27 AM in reply to: civilspace

thanks for your input

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!