Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

2012 Survey newbie - Styles/Import Survey Data

12 REPLIES 12
Message 1 of 13
torner
1081 Views, 12 Replies

2012 Survey newbie - Styles/Import Survey Data

I am a C3D newbie using a clients template file and trying to figure out how to import our survey in PNEZD txt format. The template files I am working with are from WDOT and have many items set up including  Point Styles, Label Styles, Description Key Sets, Figure Styles and Layers. I am having trouble figuring out exactly what each of these control/do what I need to create. I know that WDOT uses C3D for design and they translate survey from Cacie to C3D.

I have setup an Equipment Database and Linework Code Set that matches how we code things in the field (Begin=ST, Begin/End Curve= PC/PT, etc.). I am confused as to what exactly the Figure Prefix Database does and how it relates to the other Styles. I have put these in a network folder.

My first attempt using Import Survey Data with the latest WDOT .dwt file produces lines (survey figure) that are all Style=Standard and Layer=0. The points (Cogo Point) are all Style=P RW Circle Filled and Layer=P_MISC.

I also tried the same procedure on an earlier version (Dec. 2011) of the .dwt. This produced lines that had the correct Style and Layer. The points that were NOT shots taking along linework (such as a ground shot, manhole, sign) came in with the correct Style and Layer. What is wrong are the points (shots) that are along the lines (edge of sidewalk, storm sewer, edge of lane) have the Style=<default> (which shows as the P RW Circle Filled symbol) and Layer=P_MISC.