AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
eyescast
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎07-09-2011
Message 1 of 7 (384 Views)
Accepted Solution

1. Quick profile on corridor section AND 2. Corridor surface Boundaries

384 Views, 6 Replies
10-17-2012 10:50 AM

 1.

When a line crossing the green colored corridor section is right clicked , and  choosing the  quick profile option , no profile view is generated.Civil 3d did ask where to generate it so then the area  was clicked Still, NO profile. I spent time figuring out how to use the cube at the left bottom corner by rotating so that it shows "TOP " face. When the cube is oriented to TOP face , the drawing is oriented into a line ( like the perspective is a horizon). Initially, I was able to generate the sections (Refer. to quickProfileCorridor6).

 

2. The another file shows a step to taken to do a quick profile.

 

 

I need help so I can continue on with sample lines. Ultimately,  road section quantities need to be acquired.

Thanks.

I noticed your view cube is being showed as looking at the BACK, shouldn't that be TOP? Not sure if that might have something to do with it. Looks like your in some 3D rotation.

Ya, it is part of my problem description that was initially sent Here are two files , first one is turned to the top face, and the second one is turned to the front face.

Please take note where the line is over the green corridor , the gizmo x-y-z system mode is Turned ON…. Could this be the cause of my problem.

How do get to the gizmo mode settings?

 

While in model space, type VIEW, maximize Preset Views, select TOP and click Set Current, hit OK. ViewCube or "GIZMO" should read TOP. Then to reset your user coordinate system (XYZ) to World, type UCS, then hit W for world. Then draw a polyline and do a quick profile.

i believe this has work , no issues on this.

thanks

Valued Mentor
Valued Mentor
sjg
Posts: 534
Registered: ‎09-29-2010
Message 2 of 7 (371 Views)

Re: 1. Quick profile on corridor section AND 2. Corridor surface Boundaries

10-17-2012 11:31 AM in reply to: eyescast
I noticed your view cube is being showed as looking at the BACK, shouldn't that be TOP? Not sure if that might have something to do with it. Looks like your in some 3D rotation.
Steve Goessling
Land Consultants
Civil3D 2013
Windows 7, 64 bit
Intel i7 2600 @ 3.40Ghz
16 GB RAM
Nvidia Quadro 600
Active Contributor
eyescast
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎07-09-2011
Message 3 of 7 (342 Views)

Re: 1. Quick profile on corridor section AND 2. Corridor surface Boundaries

10-17-2012 01:09 PM in reply to: sjg

Ya, it is part of my problem description that was initially sent Here are two files , first one is turned to the top face, and the second one is turned to the front face.

Please take note where the line is over the green corridor , the gizmo x-y-z system mode is Turned ON…. Could this be the cause of my problem.

How do get to the gizmo mode settings?

 

Valued Mentor
Valued Mentor
sjg
Posts: 534
Registered: ‎09-29-2010
Message 4 of 7 (336 Views)

Re: 1. Quick profile on corridor section AND 2. Corridor surface Boundaries

10-17-2012 01:29 PM in reply to: eyescast
While in model space, type VIEW, maximize Preset Views, select TOP and click Set Current, hit OK. ViewCube or "GIZMO" should read TOP. Then to reset your user coordinate system (XYZ) to World, type UCS, then hit W for world. Then draw a polyline and do a quick profile.
Steve Goessling
Land Consultants
Civil3D 2013
Windows 7, 64 bit
Intel i7 2600 @ 3.40Ghz
16 GB RAM
Nvidia Quadro 600
Active Contributor
eyescast
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎07-09-2011
Message 5 of 7 (302 Views)

Re: 1. Quick profile on corridor section AND 2. Corridor surface Boundaries

10-21-2012 01:59 PM in reply to: eyescast

i believe this has work , no issues on this.

thanks

Active Contributor
eyescast
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎07-09-2011
Message 6 of 7 (297 Views)

Re: 1. Quick profile on corridor section AND 2. Corridor surface Boundaries

10-21-2012 02:03 PM in reply to: eyescast

Hi  was wrong; **** still needs a solution. I need to turn off the points on the assembly surface. Or change the size that's ok too. how to I change the boundaries so that assembly cross section will look it has cut and fill section?

 

thanks again.

Active Contributor
eyescast
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎07-09-2011
Message 7 of 7 (245 Views)

Re: 1. Quick profile on corridor section AND 2. Corridor surface Boundaries

10-30-2012 08:12 AM in reply to: sjg

I was able to fix this problem thanks!

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!