AutoCAD Civil 3D Customization

AutoCAD Civil 3D Customization

Reply
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,789
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 1 of 4 (358 Views)
Accepted Solution

Toolbox Backup of added tools

358 Views, 3 Replies
08-26-2011 12:43 AM

I have added several tools to my Toolbox - can this be backed up in some way in the event of having to reinstall C3D (and the inevitable 2013 release next year)??

 

Thanks

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610

Yes, the xml file that contains them is located here: 

 

C:\ProgramData\Autodesk\C3D 2011\enu\Data\Toolbox\ToolBoxCfg.xml

 

I'd recommend copying the ToolBoxCfg.xml file, giving it a new name maybe ToolBoxCfg_neilyj.xml and then delete all of the standard stuff out of it. That way you can copy and past the ToolBoxCfg_neilyj.xml into next year's folder without worring about missing any of the changes that may be done. Civil 3D will automatically added it to the Toolbox for you if it's in the Toolbox folder.

 

Christopher

http://blog.civil3dreminders.com/

Distinguished Mentor
Civil3DReminders
Posts: 910
Registered: ‎03-24-2009
Message 2 of 4 (349 Views)

Re: Toolbox Backup of added tools

08-26-2011 03:08 PM in reply to: neilyj

Yes, the xml file that contains them is located here: 

 

C:\ProgramData\Autodesk\C3D 2011\enu\Data\Toolbox\ToolBoxCfg.xml

 

I'd recommend copying the ToolBoxCfg.xml file, giving it a new name maybe ToolBoxCfg_neilyj.xml and then delete all of the standard stuff out of it. That way you can copy and past the ToolBoxCfg_neilyj.xml into next year's folder without worring about missing any of the changes that may be done. Civil 3D will automatically added it to the Toolbox for you if it's in the Toolbox folder.

 

Christopher

http://blog.civil3dreminders.com/

*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,385
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 3 of 4 (346 Views)

Re: Toolbox Backup of added tools

08-26-2011 08:52 PM in reply to: Civil3DReminders

Thanks, Christopher! I've wondered about this for a while myself. I'm now backed up and portable. :smileyvery-happy:

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,789
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 4 of 4 (334 Views)

Re: Toolbox Backup of added tools

08-29-2011 12:40 AM in reply to: Civil3DReminders

Thanks for this - good info....:smileyhappy:

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.