AutoCAD Civil 3D Customization

AutoCAD Civil 3D Customization

Reply
*Expert Elite*
mikeevans
Posts: 816
Registered: ‎09-29-2008
Message 1 of 3 (307 Views)

Pipe Network Checks - Interference & Structural clash - Ideas

307 Views, 2 Replies
08-03-2012 01:40 AM

I recently started thinkng about how I could check for clashes against an exported Revit model in Civil  3D in order to aid design and do this on the one product.

 

I figured that I could use the IntersectWith method but I have recently found this does not work with 3dsolids? Then I had a bright spark: If I can section the solid object by using the pipes level & coordinate information then there must be a clash.

 

Following K.W' through the interface example I tried this but got confused later on decifering C# to Dot.Net and once I got there (I think) it didn't work.

 

Sice that I have found that I need to be more thorough in my checks.

 

I must check that a pipe or structure does not undermine the foundations of the proposed building (see attachment) where the 45 degree splay intersects the base of the foundation I will undermine it.

 

So far the method I have used is a combination of a Corridor model for the main runs and a pen and ink jobbie on a plan for the structures but this in time consuming and requires a constant change.

 

I could create pipe network parts for each structure / pipe which is sized and shaped accordingly (probably easier than coding it) but this would mean either swapping all the parts backwards and forwards unless I can have a hidden object in plan,section etc but not in the model.  <Edit - I just Realised I could Dref the network into a new file and use the new parts there instead>.

 

Does anyone have any ideas as to how I could automate this to save time and find problems on the fly?

 

I sudgest that it would need to use the 3dsolid object if possible or convert this to a more usable object from a progamming point of view.

 

Regards

 

Mike

Mike Evans

Civil3D 2013 / 2014 British UK
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3820 CPU @ 3.60GHz (8 CPUs), ~4.0GHz With 32768MB RAM, AMD FirePro V4900, Dedicated Memory: 984 MB, Shared Memory: 814 MB

ADN Support Specialist
augusto.goncalves
Posts: 390
Registered: ‎04-30-2009
Message 2 of 3 (260 Views)

Re: Pipe Network Checks - Interference & Structural clash - Ideas

08-16-2012 06:32 AM in reply to: mikeevans

Hi,

 

That can have several solutions...so just starting the discussion.

 

If you have the terrain surface (underside of foundation) you can use Civil 3D Corridors to get the cut on it, as you already mentioned. To start, we have a plugin (http://labs.autodesk.com/utilities/pipe2polyline/) to create a pline 3d bellow the pipe network, then you can use that to create the appropriate alignment and profile required to generate the corridor cut on the terrain. I believe that will make better use on Civil 3D built-in features.

 

I'm not sure if you can fully implement that easily. The sketch you provided is simply on 2d section, but the reality is a 3d and varies on each section, so it can get very complicated.

 

Back to the initial approach, once you have the cut surface, you can check whenever any placed solid is 'floating', which will be an interference.

 

Just some ideas...hope this helps.

 

Regards,

 

Regards,



Augusto Goncalves
Autodesk Developer Network
*Expert Elite*
mikeevans
Posts: 816
Registered: ‎09-29-2008
Message 3 of 3 (243 Views)

Re: Pipe Network Checks - Interference & Structural clash - Ideas

08-20-2012 07:28 AM in reply to: augusto.goncalves

Augusto Thanks for the input. 

 

I initially used corridors for the process and found it a little time consuming. Following my original posting I have read up and played with the Partbuilder to try and learn how to make my own parts and I now have a working solution for the structures which have saved me time.

 

I next need to start looking at the Pipes and see if I can do the same. Unfortunatly these wont automatically adjust for depth like a manhole does so I need to have a further think to adjust for depth.

 

Not sure that I understand this sentence, particularly if a solid is floating.

 

"Back to the initial approach, once you have the cut surface, you can check whenever any placed solid is 'floating', which will be an interference."

 

Thanks

 

Mike

 

Mike Evans

Civil3D 2013 / 2014 British UK
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3820 CPU @ 3.60GHz (8 CPUs), ~4.0GHz With 32768MB RAM, AMD FirePro V4900, Dedicated Memory: 984 MB, Shared Memory: 814 MB

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.