AutoCAD Civil 3D Customization

AutoCAD Civil 3D Customization

Reply
Contributor
brianmastbergen7071
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎01-15-2009
Message 1 of 3 (309 Views)

Part Builder - Structure Height

309 Views, 2 Replies
01-24-2010 11:41 AM
I am trying to learn Part Builder to create a custom inlet structure. I am able to build the part in Part Builder so it looks like it should and seems to work correctly when I change part sizes. I run into trouble when I try to change the model parameter for Structure Height (SBSH) to a formula invovling Rim to Sump Height (SRS). When I do this and then go to Edit Size Parameters, I get an error " one or more calculations have failed". It does not seem to make any difference what formula I use for SBSH or what size parameter or model parameter SBSH was set to before I entered the formula.

I am able to save the part without any other error messages, however, when I look at the .xml file, SBSH is a constant and not the formula I entered. I can edit the .xml file to enter the formula that I want but still the part does not function properly in a drawing.

I can make a pipe network using the new structure, however, the pipe inverts are not the same as the sump elevation of the structure. They are usually several feet below the sump. I can get the structure sump to match the pipe inverts by going to "Connected Pipes" under "Edit Structure Properties", highlighting the pipe invert elevation and then clicking "Apply". If you change the pipe using "Edit pipe properties" after this, the structure invert does not update as it should.

Can anyone help me with the proper procedure to get the formula for SBSH correct?
Active Member
PFHeller
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-24-2012
Message 2 of 3 (200 Views)

Re: Part Builder - Structure Height

10-03-2012 11:27 AM in reply to: brianmastbergen7071

I am getting this problem as well....I have even opened a standard part and copied and pasted the correct equation from there to my new part....and it still doesn't work. Anyone have a solution?

Valued Contributor
TCARCAMO78
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎06-02-2010
Message 3 of 3 (180 Views)

Re: Part Builder - Structure Height

10-09-2012 05:46 AM in reply to: brianmastbergen7071

This issue has been reported to Autodesk for C3D 2013. I had the same problem when I was trying to change my wall thickness I go the same error. So since I could only set one constant wall thickness, I just add the difference to my structure inner width and length (SIL/SIW). For example. Most of my structures walls are 6 inches but I have a 7' junction box with 8 inch walls. To fix this issue, besides using 84" for the inner dimension (SIW/SIL) for my box, I used 84.34 inches. Now my outer structure limits are correct. Maybe you can try this method. 

 

Tony

CAD Manager

www.tonyscivil3dworld.blogspot.com

Tony Carcamo
CAD Manager
www.tonyscivil3dworld.blogspot.com
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!