Community
Civil 3D Customization
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D Customization topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How should I start to customization?

6 REPLIES 6
SOLVED
Message 1 of 7
sacprasanna
622 Views, 6 Replies

How should I start to customization?

Hi all,

I am very new to customization any programme.Still i never write any code to autoCAD or Civil 3D.But I want to some customization to civil 3D .

How I start?What is first step?

I not want to do big change some simple things like custom report creation,expoting points etc.

I know there are autolisp,.net,com like things.What is best for simple customization?

What is easy to learn?

Pls give me some idea.

Chamara Prasanna
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2015 SP 1
Sri Lanka
6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7

First question: Do you know any programming languages at all?

If not, I would suggest learning one of the .NET languages (either VB or C#). Learning one of these languages will provide you the skills to write many different types of programs, not just Autodesk based programs. There are lots of examples/support for both regular windows programming and programming ACad/C3D on the web.

ObjectARX is the strongest most versatile language for programming Autodesk based products and thus it also has the highest learning curve. If your goal in the long run is to right commercial software for ACad based products this is something you would want to look into later.

AutoLISP is another choice for programming, I haven't done LISP programming but it appears very strong for procedural type tasks but not as intuitive for GUI/Event driven programming. AutoLISP programmers please correct me if I'm wrong!

The one language Autodesk provides that I would skip is VBA (Visual Basic for Applications, not to be confused with Visual Basic .NET). Autodesk is trying to dump support for that language.