AutoCAD Architecture Customization

AutoCAD Architecture Customization

Reply
Valued Mentor
2,346 Posts
9 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-18-2003
Post 1 of 7

Anyone know a way 2 automate updating property setdefs from some source file?

442 Views, 6 Replies
04-18-2012 01:57 PM

Does anyone know a way to update a property set definition programatically?

Or via a toolpalette tool.... I see there is with schedules for instance a right-click option to import a schedule style to update it... but I can't find a way to do this with property set definitions.

 

This would be in AutoCAD Arch (or MEP) 2012 or 2013...

Contributor
23 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-18-2007
Post 2 of 7

Re: Anyone know a way 2 automate updating property setdefs from some source file

05-25-2012 01:40 PM in reply to: mdhutchinson

 

 I'm in the same boat.  Looking for a way to automate this....

*Expert Elite*
518 Posts
19 Kudos
Registered: ‎07-05-2010
Post 3 of 7

Re: Anyone know a way 2 automate updating property setdefs from some source file

06-01-2012 01:19 PM in reply to: mdhutchinson

I don't know how to do this programmaticcally but as a workaround in Style Manager, if you have the source file open together with the destination file(s) it is easy to copy and paste the PSD form source to destination.

*Expert Elite*
1,277 Posts
109 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-13-2008
Post 4 of 7

Re: Anyone know a way 2 automate updating property setdefs from some source file

06-07-2012 02:31 PM in reply to: mdhutchinson

I assume by update you mean attach to an object automatically?

 

There is a whole sample file in the VB.net or C#.net Samples Directiory that deals with property sets and how to attach them to objects.  You would just need to create an event handler that will fire off whenever an object is created so you could programmatically attach the property set.

 

I am not sure if this is available using LISP or not.  Maybe looking at the .NET code could get you started in the right direction though.

 

This functionality is also availble for ObjectARX.

 

 


Keith Brown AutoCAD MEP BLOG | RSS Feed
AutoCAD MEP 2014 | Revit 2014 | EastCoast CAD/CAM V6.1 | Visual Studio 2013
────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate. Thank you!
Valued Mentor
2,346 Posts
9 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-18-2003
Post 5 of 7

Re: Anyone know a way 2 automate updating property setdefs from some source file

06-07-2012 02:35 PM in reply to: mdhutchinson

No ... The set is already attached to the object. I mean if the property set was modified in a standards 'library' dwg and it needed to be redefined / updated in the dwg where it is being used.

Valued Mentor
2,346 Posts
9 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-18-2003
Post 6 of 7

Re: Anyone know a way 2 automate updating property setdefs from some source file

06-20-2012 08:05 AM in reply to: mdhutchinson

I ran across this command... AecApplyToolPSD

when attempt to run it... I get 'This command can only be run from the tool system.'

I tried putting it in a command tool on a tool palette... and I got the same.

 

I think this might hold a possible way to import a revised property set definition.

 

Any idease how this can get into the 'tool system' in a way I might be able to experiment with it?

*Expert Elite*
2,774 Posts
300 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-09-2003
Post 7 of 7

Re: Anyone know a way 2 automate updating property setdefs from some source file

06-20-2012 04:17 PM in reply to: mdhutchinson

A Tag Tool has properties that allow you to specify one or more Property Sets (from a source file) and have them applied to an object (whether or not a Tag is added, and, if a Tag is added, whether or not the Tag references the Property Set(s)).  Perhaps the AecApplyToolPSD command is what is behind this action (I do not know for certain).

 

I would think that this would follow the usual rules and would only import a Property Set from the source file if the target file did not already have a Property Set of the same name already defined, otherwise, the local definition would be used.  So it would not appear likely that this could be used to update a Property Set definition.  Right clicking on a Tag Tool offers the option to just attach the Property Sets, but it does not have a choice to re-import the Property Sets.  Sounds like that would be a good wish - assuming that the response from Autodesk would not be to use Project Navigator and Project Standards.

David Koch
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!