AutoCAD Architecture General Discussion

AutoCAD Architecture General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
David_W._Koch
Posts: 2,473
Registered: ‎12-09-2003
Message 41 of 51 (23,823 Views)

Re: Updated Workaround instructions for 64 Bit OS Install

08-05-2009 03:02 PM in reply to: *Poster
Both ACA 2009 and ACA 2010 have 64-bit versions on the installation disks; you should not need to jump through hoops as was necessary for the 2008 version.
David Koch
Contributor
tstahlnecker
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎09-01-2009
Message 42 of 51 (23,823 Views)

Re: Updated Workaround instructions for 64 Bit OS Install

05-01-2010 07:58 PM in reply to: *Poster
Poster,

It seems that this workaround is no longer applicable to the downloadable versions of AutoCAD v2011. I can no longer find a file named ACA.msi although there is a file named ACAD.msi in the pathway of x86\acad that had the two "CheckFor64BitOS" lines in it. I modified it okay. However, the Setup.ini file doesn't have the "PLATFORM=NO_WOW_64_PROCESS" line in it any longer. The platform requirement section now says:
OSMAJVER=5
OSMINVER=1
SPMAJVER=2

I suspect that modifying these numbers may set the maximum and minimum OS versions that this installer will work with. Anyone know how these should be set to achieve installation of the 32-bit AutoCAD on a 64-bit OS? Regrettably, these are the same values that I find in the setup.ini file of the 64-bit Revit installer so maybe I'm barking up the wrong tree here.

There are some lines at the beginning of the setup.ini file that got me some headway. They were originally:
X86_IMAGE_PATH=X86
X64_IMAGE_PATH=X64

I modified the second line to read: X64_IMAGE_PATH=X86 and this got the installer to get a little further. However, the installer still eventually stops and tells me that this version of AutoCAD v2011 cannot be installed on the current operating system. This is true even if I set the setup.exe to run in compatibility mode.

Before anyone here says "just install the 64-bit version." Let me say that I'm needing to get my SSDCP add on software to work and it's only compatible with 32 bit AutoCAD.
New Member
maniax11
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-26-2010
Message 43 of 51 (23,654 Views)

Re: Updated Workaround instructions for 64 Bit OS Install

06-26-2010 09:18 PM in reply to: tstahlnecker

This patch can be used to apply the required changes to your autocad 2010 or 2011 (32 bit) installer MSI (acad.msi or ...)  to be compatible with 64 bit windows operating systems (XP, Vista, Seven).

It can also patch other Autodesk 32 bit installers as well.

http://www.multiupload.com/FL6FCIMJ89

Contributor
GaryRoddy1843
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎12-15-2005
Message 44 of 51 (23,082 Views)

Re: Updated Workaround instructions for 64 Bit OS Install

08-18-2010 10:36 AM in reply to: David_W._Koch

That option seems $149 more expensive too.

New Member
ljhernandez
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-08-2011
Message 45 of 51 (17,024 Views)

Re: Updated Workaround instructions for 64 Bit OS Install

08-08-2011 11:10 AM in reply to: David_W._Koch

The availability of a 64bit version of Autocad is not the issue.  If you have third party application that require the 32bit version of autocad, that is what needs to be installed.  There should be no reason the 32bit version would not run on a 64bit OS.  Not sure why Autodesk is preventing this.  I too am looking for a workaround on this issue...

New Member
ljhernandez
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-08-2011
Message 46 of 51 (17,018 Views)

Re: Updated Workaround instructions for 64 Bit OS Install

08-08-2011 11:51 AM in reply to: *Poster

This does not work for AutoCAD 2011.  Is there a workaround for AutoCAD 2011??

New Member
nldijkje
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-07-2009
Message 47 of 51 (13,521 Views)

Re: Updated Workaround instructions for 64 Bit OS Install

03-06-2012 07:11 AM in reply to: David_W._Koch

Hello,

 

Apparently the link to http://www.multiupload.com/FL6FCIMJ89 does not work anymore.

 

Does anyone have the patch mentioned and if so could you please make it available again for upload?

 

I have the same isuee with AutoCAD 2012 and W7 64bits.

 

Thanx.

 

Active Member
mikefr
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-20-2011
Message 48 of 51 (11,829 Views)

Re: Updated Workaround instructions for 64 Bit OS Install

05-30-2012 03:42 PM in reply to: David_W._Koch

How about the 32bit SP1 update on windows 7 64 bit? You can install autocad 2008 32bit on 64bit OS, but can you install the service packs?

New Member
nldijkje
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-07-2009
Message 49 of 51 (11,800 Views)

Re: Updated Workaround instructions for 64 Bit OS Install

05-31-2012 01:28 AM in reply to: mikefr

No issue for me anymore. The longbow converter works like a charm.

I installed AutoCAD 2012 32 bits (with the Longbow converter) for third party functionality and AutoCAD 2013 64 bits on my W7 64bits workstation. Works great, no problems.

New Member
upulup
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-24-2012
Message 50 of 51 (10,914 Views)

Re: Updated Workaround instructions for 64 Bit OS Install

07-24-2012 12:34 AM in reply to: *Poster

Failed open MSI Database C:\Autocad\acad.msi

I am stark in this point  if anybody can advice me. Please let me know what I need do   

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.