AutoCAD Architecture General Discussion

AutoCAD Architecture General Discussion

Reply
Member
jhickeyERD
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-03-2012
Message 1 of 4 (180 Views)

Question on AutoCAD Arch 2013 and references

180 Views, 3 Replies
10-05-2012 12:18 PM

 

This week we rolled out new laptops at our company which have AutoCAD Architecture 2013  when we were previously using ver 2010.  I support these laptops, but I am not a CAD user myself, so I am looking for some help on interpreting a report such as what I pasted below.  Is this normal activity, something to be concerned about, etc..

 

 

"He is getting an error message that there are 33 errors in the drawing when he opens up the two projects that he started this week. We are thinking because it is referencing in a drawing that was done in an earlier version of AutoCAD. He can still get into the drawing if he closes the error message out so it is not a huge issue, but wanted to let you know as well"

 

All help appreciated!- John

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,494
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 4 (156 Views)

Re: Question on AutoCAD Arch 2013 and references

10-08-2012 06:10 AM in reply to: jhickeyERD

Newer versions of AutoCAD tend to find problems that older versions ignored: try to run AUDIT and/or RECOVER on all the files separately to fix them, QSAVE each, and see if the problem goes away.

 

Remember, you can't truly fix a reference file from the top file unless you go through RECOVERALL command (your user may not be aware of this), you must fix each alone to ensure the issue is dealt with correctly.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Product Support
bryce.thelin
Posts: 421
Registered: ‎05-25-2010
Message 3 of 4 (128 Views)

Re: Question on AutoCAD Arch 2013 and references

10-09-2012 10:03 AM in reply to: jhickeyERD

Hi John,

 

I agree with Dean. Make sure you have the service pack installed for AutoCAD Architecture 2013 and then use RECOVERALL on the drawing. Here is the link for the service pack:

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/getdoc/id=DL20556359



Bryce Thelin
Product Support
bryce.thelin
Posts: 421
Registered: ‎05-25-2010
Message 4 of 4 (105 Views)

Re: Question on AutoCAD Arch 2013 and references

10-12-2012 08:31 AM in reply to: jhickeyERD

Hi John,

 

I wanted to follow up with you on this discussion thread. Were you able repair the drawings?



Bryce Thelin
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.