AutoCAD Architecture General Discussion

AutoCAD Architecture General Discussion

Reply
Member
doug.woodiwiss
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-21-2012
Message 1 of 5 (437 Views)

Plotting to PDF Scale not working

437 Views, 4 Replies
08-21-2012 08:17 PM

Hi all,

I'm trying to plot a simple site plan to PDF through the DWG to PDF.pc3 option.

The scale in my model space is 1-1 and in my viewport in paper space 1-200.

The issue is I plot to PDF, and then the scale is way out. For example an object that should be 10,000mm long in model space appears as 59mm (11,800mm scaled) on the PDF. And of course when I print from the PDF to a printer this scale error carries over.

 

I'm in desperate help as this is doing my head in!

Doug

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,722
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 5 (433 Views)

Re: Plotting to PDF Scale not working

08-22-2012 05:05 AM in reply to: doug.woodiwiss

May I ask how do you know the dimension is wrong in the PDF? Don't say after printing, your print settings may be the problem in the PDF viewer, nothing more.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Member
doug.woodiwiss
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-21-2012
Message 3 of 5 (430 Views)

Re: Plotting to PDF Scale not working

08-22-2012 05:24 AM in reply to: pendean

When I view the PDF at 100% the the object is larger than it should be. This carries over when I try and print the PDF to paper, so I end up with the hard copy the same as what appears on the screen on the PDF.

When printing I select 'actual size' as well as 'fit' and neither will produce the correct product.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,722
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 4 of 5 (427 Views)

Re: Plotting to PDF Scale not working

08-22-2012 05:56 AM in reply to: doug.woodiwiss

How do you view a PDF at 100% on screen? What PDF viewer are you using?

When printing from a PDF viewer, you want to set page scaling to NONE.

What version of ARCH are you using?

Can you reproduce the problem in other files?
What are the PLOT parameters inside AutoCAD to create the PDF?

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Member
doug.woodiwiss
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-21-2012
Message 5 of 5 (424 Views)

Re: Plotting to PDF Scale not working

08-22-2012 06:12 AM in reply to: pendean

I use Adobe Reader X and where the % of zoom is, I've set it too 100% - (this should provide me with the actual size of the doccument shouldn't it?)

 

I'm using Architecture 2013, but had the same issue on 2012 with a different file.

 

Yes, I have the same error in other files.

Plot parameters are as per the screen shot

 

 

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.