AutoCAD Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Moving AutoCAD attribute data to ACA space property sets

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
roadee
413 Views, 4 Replies

Moving AutoCAD attribute data to ACA space property sets

I am trying to find a way to programmatically move our AutoCAD room tag attribute data to new AEC space property sets. I work in a hospital that has approx. 1 million s.f. and over 3000 rooms. Obviously a daunting task to do room by room. Any suggestions on tips or tricks that I might try? Thank you.

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
leothebuilder
in reply to: roadee

The space PSD attaches to the AEC space objects.

Moving your existing room attribute data programmaticlly to a space PSD is not going to help you very much.

You would still have a inserts 3000 space objects with the attacheds space PSD's.

Then you would still have to manually edit the room names and other variable data.

Are the remainder of your plans in AEC objects like walls, windows etc. or are they just plain autocad lines?

Message 3 of 5
roadee
in reply to: leothebuilder

Thanks for your reply leo. I already have the spaces defined and inserted into the floor plan (I am just using one test floor plan at present). I used some exsting polylines as bounding regions and filled them all with spaces.

The problem I am having is transferring the current attribute data from some old room tag blocks left over from an old Archibus program. I am currently replacing one attribute at a time, i.e. floor, bldg. cost center, department, room name, room number, etc.