AutoCAD Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

lt vs. Arch

8 REPLIES 8
Message 1 of 9
uwdawgs
532 Views, 8 Replies

lt vs. Arch

I am currently running AutoCad LT2004 and am finally thinking about upgrading.  I am trying to decide if I should just continue to use AutoCad LT or switch to AutoCad Architecture.  I am a residential designer wondering if the additional cost is worth it and how steep the learning curve is in making the switch.  The ability to do 3d renderings interests me, as long as the time to do these is not to prohibitive.  I would appreciate any input you guys could provide. Thanks

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
KathyMoffa
in reply to: uwdawgs

There have been a number of posts on this forum on this topic.   Below is one of the more detailed recent ones.   I came from AutoCAD,  had done quite a bit of 3D modeling, and thought ACA would be more of a complement to ACA-- not a completely new product with equal if not greater complexity.     If I had it to do over, I would stick with AutoCAD, and use Google (Trimble) Sketchup plus Shaderlight, a 3rd party rendering software.  It's a lot more fun and a better and easier product to use for rendering.   One thing I particularly like about Sketchup is the ability to actually work in a realistic visual style where you can constantly view your materials.  In ACA and ACAD,  I can only work in wire frame and conceptual--realistic slows my computer to a halt, and it's not that realistic anyway.

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Architecture/Learning-ACA-for-residential-work/m-p/3695278/hig...

Message 3 of 9
jmcintyre

ACA has quite a steep learning curve. If you want to put in the many hours to learn it, then you will find the productivity increases worth the effort in my opinion.

Message 4 of 9
uwdawgs