AutoCAD Architecture General Discussion

AutoCAD Architecture General Discussion

Reply
Member
lucas-michael
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-28-2013
Message 1 of 5 (547 Views)

I cannot dee doors in 2d wireframe

547 Views, 4 Replies
01-28-2013 12:10 PM

I am in 2d wireframe, top view with 116' cut plane working on a 10' wall residential building plan.

 

When I insert the default doors from Architecture and place it into a wall, I can set the properties and place it but I do not see the windows or doors in the walls.

 

In 3d view I can see the window but I cannot see the door at all, it's just an opening.  I made sure I was using the right door style and set swing amount, but it's not showing anything.

 

Please help!

 

edit:  I used to use ADT but it has been 6 years or so since I have, this is a brand new install of architecture.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,634
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 5 (538 Views)

Re: I cannot dee doors in 2d wireframe

01-28-2013 12:38 PM in reply to: lucas-michael

Post the DWG file (delete any sensitive info).

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Member
lucas-michael
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-28-2013
Message 3 of 5 (534 Views)

Re: I cannot dee doors in 2d wireframe

01-28-2013 12:44 PM in reply to: lucas-michael

Here it is so far very basic, my boss just had me leave out the doors in his print out for now, but I added a door so you can see.  thank you!!! 

*Expert Elite*
David_W._Koch
Posts: 2,550
Registered: ‎12-09-2003
Message 4 of 5 (521 Views)

Re: I cannot dee doors in 2d wireframe

01-28-2013 04:58 PM in reply to: lucas-michael

Your Walls start at an elevation of 0'-0" and are less than 10'-0" high (9'-7 7/16").  Why would you set your cut plane at 116'-0"?  At that height, nothing in your model is being cut.  The Door/Window Assembly you inserted (Standard Style, with some really bizarre component dimensions - such as the 50" square Frame) does not include a Door in the infill.  In the Plan High Detail Display Representation for Door/Window Assemblies, the Below component is turned off, and since your cut plane is so high, nothing of the Door/Window Assembly shows.

 

Your Display Below Range (part of the Global Cut Plane setting is just -25'-0", so your entire model is out of the viewing range, but since you have Automatically Choose Above and Below Cut Plane Heights checked on the Cut Plane tab in the Plan High Detail Display Representation for Walls, the Walls and the opening cut for the Door/Window Assembly to display.  Because the Walls are completely below the cut plane, they display in Color 132, which is the color assigned to the Below Cut Plane component (which is turned on).

 

Was this file started from an out-of-the-box template?  Was there some attempt to convert to or from a metric template?  Have you been mixing imperial and metric content, and allowing AutoCAD Architecture to scale it to accommodate the differing units?  (Your current drawing scale is 1:8'-4", which is in imperial units, but not a standard imperial scale - it translates to 1:100, which is a standard metric scale.)  Too many of the other settings are way off from the expected ones, as well.

 

The attached ZIP file contains an AutoCAD Architecture 2013 file that is the file you posted, with the cut plane height set to a more reasonable 3'-6".  The Door/Window Assembly shows up (with its huge frames) and the Walls display in the color of the Shrink Wrap component, now that the Cut Plane passes through the Walls.  This file needs more help than just that, but I do not know what your intent is, so this is as far as I am going to take it.

David Koch
Member
lucas-michael
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-28-2013
Message 5 of 5 (518 Views)

Re: I cannot dee doors in 2d wireframe

01-28-2013 05:02 PM in reply to: lucas-michael

Yes it was a template file that came with the initial install, I was pretty sure scaling was the one thing I knew I had right.

 

You answered everything I need to know.  I haven't used this program in so long I thought I would pick it up faster but you just made me *palm face*.  Thank you so much!!!!!  And especially thank you for the resaved file.  Can't thank you enough man, if you ever need any design or web work, let me know and I will hook you up THANK YOU!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.