AutoCAD Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to Move Entire Wall Segment & a Few Other Questions

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
WorkingDobermann
1559 Views, 4 Replies

How to Move Entire Wall Segment & a Few Other Questions

Newbie here on 2015 version, day 2 of learning.....

I've been googling and watching videos, but so far, I've not seen answers to how to do these few things.

1. On the attached image, I am trying to move the entire segment of walls on the eastern side in with one command to shorten up the width of the area.  Surely there is a better way than selecting each segment and reducing them individually by the same amount, isn't there?

trash.jpg

2. On the above, what is the red circle?  It appeared after I played with 3d.

3. When I use the AREA command and select Add, then pick all my points, it then tells me the square footage.  That's great, but each time as I modify the drawing, I have to reselect the same area over and over.  I'm sure there is a way to make it remember the area and adjust it each time I move the location of a wall, isn't there?

4. How do I get it to automatically always show interior dims?  I want exact wall lengths.  I don't want it compensating for halfway into the walls, etc.  I do the measure, but it does not remain on screen when I move on to the next segment.

5. Just like #4, except I would like to see the exterior dims.

6. Right now, my dwg is set with 3" exterior wood frame walls.  If I later on change it to cement or some other substance that is much thicker, will I be able to control it so that the widths of all the exterior walls expands outward and not inward?  Is this a one fell swoop, select all the exterior walls and make the change process?