AutoCAD Architecture General Discussion

AutoCAD Architecture General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
obi1knube
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-16-2010
Message 1 of 3 (19,832 Views)
Accepted Solution

How can I change from feet and inches to meters in ACA 2011?

19832 Views, 2 Replies
07-18-2010 12:01 PM

Hello there, I was constructing the down floor of a house in one document, then I opened another document for the next floor of the building, I copied all the drawings from the old document to the new one, but instead of allowing me to continue to make modifications in meters, now I have to do it in feet and inches. 

Please can some one tell me how to view and modify my shapes, measuring  them in meters. Thanks

*Expert Elite*
David_W._Koch
Posts: 2,473
Registered: ‎12-09-2003
Message 2 of 3 (19,828 Views)

Re: How can I change from feet and inches to meters in ACA 2011?

07-18-2010 12:41 PM in reply to: obi1knube

When starting a new drawing, you will want to be certain that you are using a template file that has the units set the way you want.  If you start a new file with the QNEW command, it will use the template file specified in the Options dialog.

 

It sounds like you may need to change that default template file setting.  In the Options dialog, on the Files tab, expand the Template Settings and Default Template File Name for QNEW nodes.  Under the latter node, change the specified template file to one that is set up the way you want.

 

You can change the units settings in the file that you have already started.  You may need to do some rescaling, depending upon whether the objects you brought in from your meters-based file were "automatically" scaled when you brought them into the feet-and-inches file (and whether you choose to scale them when you change the drawing units).  If you have not done a lot of work in that file, you may find it easier to start over in a new file with the proper units.

David Koch
Active Member
obi1knube
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-16-2010
Message 3 of 3 (19,822 Views)

Re: How can I change from feet and inches to meters in ACA 2011?

07-18-2010 03:22 PM in reply to: obi1knube

I am very Grateful to you Mr David Koch, I am  begining to enjoy this program!!!!!!!

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.