AutoCAD Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help getting started

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
borre.haugen
448 Views, 5 Replies

Help getting started

Hello folks! 🙂

I've been using AutoCAD since, well, for many years now. But i've only learned the basics, and recently found out about the Architecture version which simplifies so much. My projects are usually just for fun, drawing my own home, or planning things, making cutting designs for furniture etc. I've recently made a pretty exact floorplan and facade view of my house in acad (not architecture) for an application to build a terrace outside my house, but this was in plain 2D...

Now, I want to start over, using my old drawings as a reference (it got kinda messy regarding layers, blocks, not to mention imperial template which nagged me with annotations, plots etc.), but the first thing I want to know is how to "work smart".

Which template should I use, seeing that acad and acadiso isn't present? I want too use metric as default for all my drawings.

- Should I split it into several drawings inside a project file? (I have no experience with project files). Or should I just use layers and such?

- Can I draw the whole thing as 3D, and still get good floorplans, facade views etc without all the "noise" from other lines as there are no planes to cover the "background noise". I'm not (currently) planning any rendered 3D pictures, but it would be nice to to keep that option available.

- I'm also looking through the content browser (which is also new to me) for electrical installation components as switches, receptacles etc, but can't seem to find it.