AutoCAD Architecture General Discussion

AutoCAD Architecture General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
jasarch
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎07-09-2007
Message 1 of 3 (117 Views)

Hardware

117 Views, 2 Replies
10-04-2012 05:26 AM

I need to replace an old computer but can not afford to upgrade from 2008 Architecture at this time, my question is will 2008 run on a multicore 64 bit system?  If so what other attributes should the new computer have?

 

PS; Please keep it simple, I'm pretty technically challenged!!

 

Any help is much appreciated.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,640
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 3 (115 Views)

Re: Hardware

10-04-2012 05:47 AM in reply to: jasarch

No, not really, but since that's about all that is out there you may not have a choice.

 

ACA2008 is also not supported in Windows7, the Windows version everyone sells, so if you are going to stick with your old ACA2008 software you might benefit from finding a Windows 7 32bit OS (hard to find for many), or taking a chance with Windows 7 64bit with the understanding you may hate it (or it does not work, or it will not install the updates or patches) though it seems to work OK for those folks that install it in WinXP-mode in Windows 7.

 

What's your budget?

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Contributor
jasarch
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎07-09-2007
Message 3 of 3 (111 Views)

Re: Hardware

10-04-2012 06:06 AM in reply to: jasarch

 

Thanks for the quick response.  The machines I'm klooking at are in the 500 to 600 range, guess I can upgrade or buy Win7 XP. 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.