AutoCAD Architecture General Discussion

AutoCAD Architecture General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
Lhudson
Posts: 452
Registered: ‎07-18-2007
Message 1 of 8 (301 Views)

global width

301 Views, 7 Replies
08-31-2008 07:18 PM
what is the command for global width in the pline
i want to make a tool button setting the global with of that pline.

with ACA 2009 it looks like I can achieve this.
*Bill Gilliss
Message 2 of 8 (301 Views)

Re: global width

08-31-2008 07:28 PM in reply to: Lhudson
Lhudson wrote:
> what is the command for global width in the pline
> i want to make a tool button setting the global with of that pline.
>
> with ACA 2009 it looks like I can achieve this.


PLINEWID
Distinguished Contributor
Lhudson
Posts: 452
Registered: ‎07-18-2007
Message 3 of 8 (301 Views)

Re: global width

08-31-2008 09:41 PM in reply to: Lhudson
would this command just change that property or all plines in the drawing file
Distinguished Contributor
David_W._Koch
Posts: 11,056
Registered: ‎12-12-2003
Message 4 of 8 (301 Views)

Re: global width

09-01-2008 05:11 AM in reply to: Lhudson
PLINEWID stores the default value for the global width of the next polyline to be created. Changing this value will not affect the width of any polylines already in the drawing.

If you want a command to change the global width of all polylines in a drawing, you are going to need some sort of customization, such as an AutoLISP routine.

--

David Koch
Using ADT 2004 at work; access to 2005-2009 at home
Distinguished Contributor
Lhudson
Posts: 452
Registered: ‎07-18-2007
Message 5 of 8 (301 Views)

Re: global width

09-01-2008 08:35 AM in reply to: Lhudson
David I remember us having this conversation a few months back, but with the addition of aca2009.. there is a way of adding fire rated plines, which is on the documents tool palette.

How were they able to create this tool?
*Bill Gilliss
Message 6 of 8 (301 Views)

Re: global width

09-01-2008 11:27 AM in reply to: Lhudson
Lhudson wrote:
> would this command just change that property or all plines in the drawing file

Might MPEDIT be what you are looking for? - Multiple Polyline EDIT

Will globally change all (or selected) polylines and LWpolylines to the
desired width. Optionally changes selected lines and arcs to polylines
for processing.
Distinguished Contributor
David_W._Koch
Posts: 11,056
Registered: ‎12-12-2003
Message 7 of 8 (301 Views)

Re: global width

09-01-2008 05:04 PM in reply to: Lhudson
Well, they are Autodesk and it is their program....

In the 2009 release, they tried to minimize the need for command-type Aec Content files running custom routines by creating special tools that could do the same without having the tool run an Aec Content file.

So they created a tool that replicates the old Aec Content fire-resistance-rated polyline routine.

They also added a generic command tool that has a layer key - so if you are looking to create a tool palette tool that draws a polyline on a particular layer, based on a layer key, without the need to select walls as the defining geometry, you might want to look into that. The custom command string could simply be the PLINE command, or you might write a simple LISP routine that collected the start point and width (or perhaps calculates the width?) and then starts up the PLINE command, feeds it the start point, sets the width, and then leave the user to enter the rest of the points for the polyline. The layer keying should kick in after the command is terminated - but you may want to test that just to be certain.

--

David Koch
Using ADT 2004 at work; access to 2005-2009 at home
Active Contributor
G Randall
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎05-22-2008
Message 8 of 8 (301 Views)

Re: global width

09-02-2008 05:17 AM in reply to: Lhudson
I know this may be really simplistic but ...

I can think of very few situations where a global pline with setting other than 0 would be useful (to me anyway). Wouldn't it be very simple to simply select a line, right click, select similar and use a palette to set the width of all associated, similar plines?
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.