AutoCAD Architecture General Discussion

AutoCAD Architecture General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
jmartinarch
Posts: 177
Registered: ‎01-10-2008
Message 1 of 5 (852 Views)
Accepted Solution

FIXED AREA RECTANGLE

852 Views, 4 Replies
12-27-2012 10:17 AM

I would like to draw a rectangle of a certain size (150 s.f.) then stretch it from a corner but have it automatically adjust to maintain the size desired.  So I would  start with a 10 x 15 shape, then have ability to stretch to 12.5' x ?  and as I stretch say the 10' width toward 12.5' the other end of rectangle (15) reduces to 12. 

Is it possible?

Thanks,

JM

 

ACAD 2011

1. Select the rectangle and autoconstrain it.

2. Add a linear dimension constrain for the height and set it to the desired height (d1)

3. Add a linear dimension constraint for the width with the constraint text (<your target area>/d1)

4. Change dimension d1.  Dimension d2 changes to make the area constant.

 

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,907
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 5 (851 Views)

Re: FIXED AREA RECTANGLE

12-27-2012 10:26 AM in reply to: jmartinarch
I don't remember: does 2011 have Constraints? If yes, that's what you need to use/turn on.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Distinguished Contributor
jmartinarch
Posts: 177
Registered: ‎01-10-2008
Message 3 of 5 (846 Views)

Re: FIXED AREA RECTANGLE

12-27-2012 10:47 AM in reply to: pendean

Yes, constraints are availale.  But not that easy to get a rectangle to maintain  an area.  Not  sure  if I can set the right  comb. of variables to get what  I want but thanks for the suggestion.

*Expert Elite*
dbroad
Posts: 1,601
Registered: ‎08-16-2007
Message 4 of 5 (836 Views)

Re: FIXED AREA RECTANGLE

12-27-2012 12:24 PM in reply to: jmartinarch

1. Select the rectangle and autoconstrain it.

2. Add a linear dimension constrain for the height and set it to the desired height (d1)

3. Add a linear dimension constraint for the width with the constraint text (<your target area>/d1)

4. Change dimension d1.  Dimension d2 changes to make the area constant.

 

Distinguished Contributor
jmartinarch
Posts: 177
Registered: ‎01-10-2008
Message 5 of 5 (831 Views)

Re: FIXED AREA RECTANGLE

12-27-2012 12:48 PM in reply to: dbroad

There it is.  Thanks much. 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.