AutoCAD Architecture General Discussion

AutoCAD Architecture General Discussion

Reply
New Member
SeanHegstad2615
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-21-2012
Message 1 of 7 (12,783 Views)

Exploding text with AutoCAD 2013

12783 Views, 6 Replies
05-29-2012 10:24 AM

Hi there,

 

I'm trying to export some AutoCAD files to SketchUp as DWGs... everything comes through fine, but the text (and certain other line-types) won't transfer over.  I know that with AutoCAD 2008 using Express Tools, you could do this easily by exploding the text.  How can I explode text using AutoCAD 2013, so that it will export as vectors in the DWG file?  

 

Thanks!

 

Distinguished Contributor jcp
Distinguished Contributor
jcp
Posts: 125
Registered: ‎05-23-2007
Message 2 of 7 (12,762 Views)

Re: Exploding text with AutoCAD 2013

05-30-2012 09:28 AM in reply to: SeanHegstad2615

I don't have 2013 loaded yet to check but in 2012 there is an Explode Text command (txtexp)  that is part of the express tools.

Active Member
svplaser
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-07-2012
Message 3 of 7 (11,009 Views)

Re: Exploding text with AutoCAD 2013

04-04-2013 07:51 AM in reply to: SeanHegstad2615

Try the FONTCAM app in the Autodesk appstore.

 

http://apps.exchange.autodesk.com/ACD/Detail/Index?id=appstore.exchange.autodesk.com%3afontcamtrial%...

 

It can explode text and do much more with your text. 

New Member
diva86
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-29-2013
Message 4 of 7 (9,494 Views)

Re: Exploding text with AutoCAD 2013

07-29-2013 05:56 PM in reply to: svplaser

Seriously this is the only option?! AutoCAD can not explode text by defult? The app doesnt seem to work on AutoCAD for Mac :smileysad:

Active Member
svplaser
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-07-2012
Message 5 of 7 (9,450 Views)

Re: Exploding text with AutoCAD 2013

07-31-2013 02:36 AM in reply to: diva86

Autocad has an express tool command called "txtexp" ( text explode).

 

But it has some bugs. The output geometry is not clean. Also op geometry is too dense in terms of number of vertices in the output polyline. ( hence too many lines of G-code for your cnc controller to handle , if u r using the text for cnc cutting ). 

 

FontCAM overcomes most of these problems. 

 

Currently fontcam is supported only for Windows.

 

 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,902
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 6 of 7 (9,443 Views)

Re: Exploding text with AutoCAD 2013

07-31-2013 05:42 AM in reply to: diva86
Diva86....
1. This is the AutocAD ARCHITECTURE forum, for a product called AutoCAD ARCHITECTURE. Not AutoCAD as used by architects for architects to post in. So you are in the wrong forum. AutoCASD ARCHITECTURE is only Windows based at this time. Not what you have or run.

2. AutoCAd has never had the ability to explode text except SHX through Express Tools (not an option in MAC) or with TTF fonts and WMF out and in (also not a MAC feature).

3. AutoCAD/ARCH for Windows has access to an online store with goodies like FONTCAM: AutoCAD for MAC has no such ability to use much in the store for now, 3rd party developers don't seem to be interested.

3. AutoCAD for MAC has a dedicated forum, whether you are an architect or not, and where you need to post and seek help for MAC based AutoCAD software from Autodesk: http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-for-Mac/bd-p/520
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Contributor
plap1
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎01-29-2007
Message 7 of 7 (7,353 Views)

Re: Exploding text with AutoCAD 2013

11-27-2013 10:33 AM in reply to: svplaser

Hello I load FontCam but did not find a way to explode text that is already in the drawing.

It seem to work only on new text.

 

I use Autocad 2014

 

My problem is that there is a lot of text coming from my customer file and exploding them with TXTEXP make the text mostly unreadable if I don't zoom each of them individually enough .

 

When I use TXTEXP on a multiple choice from a zoom out view the text transfer into an extraterrestrial font. 

The customer font is .shx though.

Even if I transfer it into txt.shx the problem still occur.

 

So do you have an idea to make me explode multiple text at once by keeping the letters ok ?

 

Thank in advance !

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.