AutoCAD Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Controlling the angle of architectural ticks when dimensioning...

12 REPLIES 12
SOLVED
Message 1 of 13
jmldg
3157 Views, 12 Replies

Controlling the angle of architectural ticks when dimensioning...

Hello all.  I am very new to dimensioning with autocad - just got my boss to agree today to use cad's dimensions instead of the way he's always done it... which is dimensioning everything (everything!) by hand.  Clearly that's just nonsense.  But what is important is that I make sure these new autocad dimensions look exactly like the ones we do by hand.

I think I've pretty much got the basics down, I just have one major problem: tick orientation.  When doing horizontal dimensions, the ticks run from bottom left to upper right.  When doing vertical dimensions, they flip.  This would drive my boss nuts... to the extent that I doubt I could get him to buy into this if I can't figure out how to keep the ticks running in the same direction. 

I understand I could just dimension with no ticks whatsoever, and then just go copy them in by hand, but that reeks of the old, laborious way of dimensioning... and it really seems like there should be an easy answer to always keeping the ticks running the same way.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!  You can probably understand how many hours/weeks we waste on dimensioning by hand. 

12 REPLIES 12
Message 2 of 13
leothebuilder
in reply to: jmldg

You can create two custom blocks "tick" with the proper rotation you want for horizontal and vertical dimensions.

Then create two dimension styles, one for horizontal and the other for vertical.

My best regards to your boss....

Message 3 of 13
David_W_Koch