AutoCAD Architecture General Discussion

AutoCAD Architecture General Discussion

Reply
New Member
stew
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-16-2009
Message 1 of 5 (670 Views)
Accepted Solution

Change window size

670 Views, 4 Replies
09-06-2012 06:18 AM

Sometimes when we place a window in a wall we can grab the grip and stretch it to any size we want. Other times the only sizes we can use are the standard sizes. I know how to add a standard size but how can we make it to where you can just strectch it to any size we want?

When you place a window with standard sizes and want to stretch it to a non-standard size, when you make the width grip hot, you will see long gray lines indicating standard widths, if the current width is a standard width, and short red lines indicating standard widths, if the current width is non-standard.  The initial state locks you into standard widths, but by tapping the CTRL key, you can toggle to dismiss the lines and stretch to a non-standard width.  No need to create a parallel style with no standard widths.

 

If you have grip tips activated, you can get a reminder of this by hovering the cursor over the width grip without making it active - see attached image.  (Activate grip tips in the Options dialog, on the Selection tab, in the Grips area by checking the toggle.)

Distinguished Contributor jcp
Distinguished Contributor
jcp
Posts: 125
Registered: ‎05-23-2007
Message 2 of 5 (661 Views)

Re: Change window size

09-06-2012 09:34 AM in reply to: stew

When a window style has standard sizes apply it removes the ability stretch to any length.  The only way I am aware to make a window infinitely stretchable is to remove all of the standard sizes from the style.  Alternatively you could make a copy of a window style, remove the standard sizes and apply that style to any windows that needed the infinitely adjustable sizing.

*Expert Elite*
David_W._Koch
Posts: 2,547
Registered: ‎12-09-2003
Message 3 of 5 (644 Views)

Re: Change window size

09-07-2012 07:21 PM in reply to: stew

When you place a window with standard sizes and want to stretch it to a non-standard size, when you make the width grip hot, you will see long gray lines indicating standard widths, if the current width is a standard width, and short red lines indicating standard widths, if the current width is non-standard.  The initial state locks you into standard widths, but by tapping the CTRL key, you can toggle to dismiss the lines and stretch to a non-standard width.  No need to create a parallel style with no standard widths.

 

If you have grip tips activated, you can get a reminder of this by hovering the cursor over the width grip without making it active - see attached image.  (Activate grip tips in the Options dialog, on the Selection tab, in the Grips area by checking the toggle.)

David Koch
*Expert Elite*
David_W._Koch
Posts: 2,547
Registered: ‎12-09-2003
Message 4 of 5 (623 Views)

Re: Change window size

09-08-2012 03:42 PM in reply to: David_W._Koch

Had a little free time today, and made a blog post on grip editing of styles with standard sizes.  If you are interested, you can find the article here:  http://architects-desktop.blogspot.com/2012/09/aca-grip-editing-of-doors-and-windows.html

David Koch
New Member
stew
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-16-2009
Message 5 of 5 (596 Views)

Re: Change window size

09-10-2012 06:04 AM in reply to: stew

Thanks David

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.