AutoCAD Architecture General Discussion

AutoCAD Architecture General Discussion

Reply
New Member
stew
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-16-2009
Message 1 of 5 (710 Views)
Accepted Solution

Change window size

710 Views, 4 Replies
09-06-2012 06:18 AM

Sometimes when we place a window in a wall we can grab the grip and stretch it to any size we want. Other times the only sizes we can use are the standard sizes. I know how to add a standard size but how can we make it to where you can just strectch it to any size we want?

When you place a window with standard sizes and want to stretch it to a non-standard size, when you make the width grip hot, you will see long gray lines indicating standard widths, if the current width is a standard width, and short red lines indicating standard widths, if the current width is non-standard.  The initial state locks you into standard widths, but by tapping the CTRL key, you can toggle to dismiss the lines and stretch to a non-standard width.  No need to create a parallel style with no standard widths.

 

If you have grip tips activated, you can get a reminder of this by hovering the cursor over the width grip without making it active - see attached image.  (Activate grip tips in the Options dialog, on the Selection tab, in the Grips area by checking the toggle.)

Distinguished Contributor jcp
Distinguished Contributor
jcp
Posts: 125
Registered: ‎05-23-2007
Message 2 of 5 (701 Views)

Re: Change window size

09-06-2012 09:34 AM in reply to: stew

When a window style has standard sizes apply it removes the ability stretch to any length.  The only way I am aware to make a window infinitely stretchable is to remove all of the standard sizes from the style.  Alternatively you could make a copy of a window style, remove the standard sizes and apply that style to any windows that needed the infinitely adjustable sizing.

*Expert Elite*
David_W._Koch
Posts: 2,593
Registered: ‎12-09-2003
Message 3 of 5 (684 Views)

Re: Change window size

09-07-2012 07:21 PM in reply to: stew

When you place a window with standard sizes and want to stretch it to a non-standard size, when you make the width grip hot, you will see long gray lines indicating standard widths, if the current width is a standard width, and short red lines indicating standard widths, if the current width is non-standard.  The initial state locks you into standard widths, but by tapping the CTRL key, you can toggle to dismiss the lines and stretch to a non-standard width.  No need to create a parallel style with no standard widths.

 

If you have grip tips activated, you can get a reminder of this by hovering the cursor over the width grip without making it active - see attached image.  (Activate grip tips in the Options dialog, on the Selection tab, in the Grips area by checking the toggle.)

David Koch
*Expert Elite*
David_W._Koch
Posts: 2,593
Registered: ‎12-09-2003
Message 4 of 5 (663 Views)

Re: Change window size

09-08-2012 03:42 PM in reply to: David_W._Koch

Had a little free time today, and made a blog post on grip editing of styles with standard sizes.  If you are interested, you can find the article here:  http://architects-desktop.blogspot.com/2012/09/aca-grip-editing-of-doors-and-windows.html

David Koch
New Member
stew
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-16-2009
Message 5 of 5 (636 Views)

Re: Change window size

09-10-2012 06:04 AM in reply to: stew

Thanks David

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.