AutoCAD Architecture General Discussion

AutoCAD Architecture General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
DParkRMAK
Posts: 113
Registered: ‎12-17-2007
Message 1 of 8 (237 Views)

Annotation scale problem

237 Views, 7 Replies
01-10-2013 06:46 PM

Hi, I am having a strange  problem with dimensions not picking up the annotation scale in a viewport. Annotationautoscale is set to 4.

Existing dimensions appear correctly and the annotation scale on those dims are correct.

When I create a new dimension using the same dim style it defaults to 1'-0"=1'-0" and it will not let me change it.

I have tried using add selected and it doesnt work.

I have tried adding the current scale and it doesnt work.

I tested out what happens if I add current scale to one of the dims that appear correctly ind it sets the scale to 1'-0"=1'-0".

 

I can't figure out what is going on. Usually if I recreate the viewport it will fix it but this is a large set of DWG's we got from a large retailer with many separate files and we are basically adding to them and modifying them and we are not getting paid to recreate every sheet.

 

Any help will be appreciated.

Product Support
MichaelBussiere2
Posts: 365
Registered: ‎11-09-2009
Message 2 of 8 (208 Views)

Re: Annotation scale problem

01-15-2013 07:06 PM in reply to: DParkRMAK

Thank you for your post.  In this case it sounds like possible file communication with the tools p[resent within the AutoCAD software.  By this I also mean possible third party influence and or miscommunication between these components.  You could remove this influence by using the 11 steps listed below (link) on a copy of this file.  Once this is run you can then test overall communication with the scales and viewports within the sample file.

 

File Clean up Link: http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=18809891&linkID=9240617

 

If this does not work please post a sample copy of this file for further review.  Thank you and we look forward to your reply update.



Michael Bussiere II
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.
Distinguished Contributor
DParkRMAK
Posts: 113
Registered: ‎12-17-2007
Message 3 of 8 (198 Views)

Re: Annotation scale problem

01-16-2013 11:20 AM in reply to: MichaelBussiere2

Thanks for the reply.

I will give this a try when I get back on that project.

There have been some other signs of 3rd party remnants in these files now that you mention it. Sometimes my osnaps will get cleared during certain commands. I have seen this before working with inherited drawings in the past. I am not using any 3rd party apps but I guess sometimes things get stuck in a drawing file.

I was also getting warnings about too many annotation scales on opening every file from this project. I have cleared most of those out now though. The template they used was insane. They had a viewport one on top of another for every scale set up in the layouts. I have no idea why anyone would think this was a good idea or a timesaver.

 

I will post my results when I get back to that project.

 

Thanks

Distinguished Contributor
DParkRMAK
Posts: 113
Registered: ‎12-17-2007
Message 4 of 8 (192 Views)

Update

01-16-2013 03:15 PM in reply to: MichaelBussiere2

I ran the purges and audit as described in your link with no success. Here are a few more observations.

Sometimes the dimension style selection in the ribbon is blank. The style selection gets cleared.

 

  • If a viewport is not locked, when I click into it it usually jumps to zoom all.
  • When I create a new dimension it defaults to 1'-0" = 1'-0". When I try to add the correct annotation scale it doesn't change the scale of the dim but you can see the correct scale ghosted in when you click on the dim.
  • The same thing happens with text as well.
  • Everything works fine if I create a new viewport. I am doing this as time allows but it would be very time consuming to do this on a dozen detail sheets.

Can I email you a file?

 

Thanks,

 

Dave

 

 

Distinguished Contributor
DParkRMAK
Posts: 113
Registered: ‎12-17-2007
Message 5 of 8 (190 Views)

Re: Update

01-16-2013 03:42 PM in reply to: DParkRMAK

Here is a sample file. I stripped it down to just the viewports.

Product Support
MichaelBussiere2
Posts: 365
Registered: ‎11-09-2009
Message 6 of 8 (173 Views)

Re: Update

01-17-2013 11:33 AM in reply to: DParkRMAK

Thank you for your file for review.  In this case have you tested recreating a new sheet as opposed to the sheet in the file (S4.5)? I took a look at the file and noticed that there were 50220 registered applications that could be removed from the drawing file.  These applications can be at the root cause but I would also advise recreating the sheet to then test after you clean up the file using the previously described method that is what I used and found these registered applications.



Michael Bussiere II
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.
Distinguished Contributor
DParkRMAK
Posts: 113
Registered: ‎12-17-2007
Message 7 of 8 (168 Views)

Re: Update

01-17-2013 02:25 PM in reply to: MichaelBussiere2

Where there is a lot of new dimensioning and text in a sheet I do recreate it where needed but this is a large set of drawings and we just dont have the time budgeted to recreate a bunch of sheets. I get by with copying text and dims.

Is there a way to clean out the registered applications? I thought the purge procedure would do that. I did run it on that file a couple of times.

This isn't shutting me down or anything it is just annoying. This set of drawings came from a large sports and outdoor chain and it began as a standard design for their stores and it has likely been developed and modified for years before it got to us. We are modifying it for Alaska and adding to it. Early on I wanted to redo a lot of it to bring it up to date with our CAD standards but was told that we can't spend the time on it.

 

Thanks for all your input.

 

Dave

Product Support
MichaelBussiere2
Posts: 365
Registered: ‎11-09-2009
Message 8 of 8 (154 Views)

Re: Annotation scale problem

01-18-2013 08:43 AM in reply to: DParkRMAK

Thank you for your update.  Currently this is best practice (preferred) to remove this data that potential over tiem can cause further ill behavior.  I know there is some time to budget at first but this could also minimize impact down the road to other projects if this one in particular is to be used as a template form.

 

On all files you receive from outside venders, a good rule of thumb is to run these clean ups with a copy and then move forward to add your data/drawings as needed.  This creates a clean environment for your work to be applied.

 

i hope this helps.  Thank you and have a great day.



Michael Bussiere II
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.