AutoCAD Architecture General Discussion

AutoCAD Architecture General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Mentor
ntellery
Posts: 703
Registered: ‎04-15-2008
Message 1 of 14 (1,012 Views)

ACA2011 - keeps jumping to perspective view

1012 Views, 13 Replies
06-06-2010 02:12 AM

Are there new system variables that would cause this?

--Control S or save thru the menu

--changing to a layout

both cause it to move to perspective view and 3D wireframe though I can't see anything on the command line to say what it's doing.   All it reads is

 

Command: _qsaveUpdating Indexes for block *Model_SpaceDone.

Updating Indexes for block *Model_SpaceDone.    

 

I open a Qnew file and it doesn't have this problem so I am thinking it's a per drawing setting.

This is driving me crazy.  I have reinstalled and thought it was fixed.

 

any hints please?

www.ausaca.blogspot.com
Do you know all about the Roof Object? Learn it's secrets
http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLD9BF5D8FF70CD3DF&feature=view_all
Employee
BillGlennie
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 14 (981 Views)

Re: ACA2011 - keeps jumping to perspective view

06-07-2010 07:39 AM in reply to: ntellery

Although it's helpful that you can work in perspective, this behavior is new to me.  Can you post a small drawing that has this problem?

 

Thanks,



Bill Glennie
AutoCAD Architecture and MEP Team
Autodesk, Inc.

Distinguished Mentor
ntellery
Posts: 703
Registered: ‎04-15-2008
Message 3 of 14 (973 Views)

Re: ACA2011 - keeps jumping to perspective view

06-07-2010 08:28 AM in reply to: BillGlennie

Thanks Bill.

When you open this file it will be in perspective mode as that's what saving it does.

You will also have many crash reports from me for ACA2011 somewhere as it crashes often.

Change to layout and back again and it will go to perspective again.

 

I can remember a similar problem in ACA09 - I think when changing to isometric it would turn perspective to 1.  I had ISO view shortcuts that I specifically had to program 2Dwireframe into to stop this.

Again if I open a new file it doesn't do it so I can only conclude that is drawing specific.

 

thanks for looking at it.

www.ausaca.blogspot.com
Do you know all about the Roof Object? Learn it's secrets
http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLD9BF5D8FF70CD3DF&feature=view_all
Employee
BillGlennie
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 14 (944 Views)

Re: ACA2011 - keeps jumping to perspective view

06-08-2010 01:07 PM in reply to: ntellery

This problem has been reported by other users and we are investigating how to fix it.  It has something to do with setting SKYSTATUS to 2.  That's why it doesn't occur in a new drawing.  While you may not be setting that variable directly, it's getting changed, which leads to this effect.  Give this a try:

 

1. VS > 2 (for 2d wireframe)

2. SKYSTATUS > 1

3. SKYSTATUS > 0

4. PERSPECTIVE > 0

5. Save

6. Close

 

When you reopen the drawing, it should no longer have the "perspective on save" problem.  Credit for this workaround goes to Product Support Specialist Mike Bussiere.  Let me know how this turns out.

 

Thanks,



Bill Glennie
AutoCAD Architecture and MEP Team
Autodesk, Inc.

Distinguished Mentor
ntellery
Posts: 703
Registered: ‎04-15-2008
Message 5 of 14 (938 Views)

Re: ACA2011 - keeps jumping to perspective view

06-08-2010 04:45 PM in reply to: BillGlennie

Yes that works.  But if I go to a view for rendering (with sky and Illum. then it just gets switched back on again.  I will create a small lisp to set it to off when going back to plan view.  So it means if you have Sky&Illum set in a view, anytime you set that view you will have to go through this to reset when you want to go back to working in plan view.

 

(for anyone else reading). VS isn't a command?  I just switched it to 2D wireframe - you can use view styles to get there.

 

Thanks Bill for looking at that for me.

www.ausaca.blogspot.com
Do you know all about the Roof Object? Learn it's secrets
http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLD9BF5D8FF70CD3DF&feature=view_all
Valued Mentor
jmcintyre
Posts: 647
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
Message 6 of 14 (934 Views)

Re: ACA2011 - keeps jumping to perspective view

06-08-2010 10:48 PM in reply to: ntellery

I too have had that issue. Have you tried auditing the file, worked for me.

Distinguished Mentor
ntellery
Posts: 703
Registered: ‎04-15-2008
Message 7 of 14 (930 Views)

Re: ACA2011 - keeps jumping to perspective view

06-09-2010 12:52 AM in reply to: jmcintyre

Yes I did try auditing and purging but they didn't make any difference.

Tried restarting, rebooting etc.

Bill's instructions worked but hopefully they will fix it in the next update otherwise you have to keep doing it every time you go from a view with a sun+Illum.

 

cheers

www.ausaca.blogspot.com
Do you know all about the Roof Object? Learn it's secrets
http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLD9BF5D8FF70CD3DF&feature=view_all
Employee
BillGlennie
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 8 of 14 (916 Views)

Re: ACA2011 - keeps jumping to perspective view

06-09-2010 08:29 AM in reply to: ntellery

Thanks for letting me know that this workaound prevented the problem from happening for a while.  I'll add your information about how the problem can occur easily to the defect report.



Bill Glennie
AutoCAD Architecture and MEP Team
Autodesk, Inc.

Distinguished Mentor
ntellery
Posts: 703
Registered: ‎04-15-2008
Message 9 of 14 (912 Views)

Re: ACA2011 - keeps jumping to perspective view

06-09-2010 08:54 AM in reply to: BillGlennie

Yes you can try it my file.

If I use a view that has sun then it all mucks up again.

And you do have to set Skystatus to 1 then again to 0 for it to work.

Setting it straight to 0 does not reset it.

I'll have to create a little extra lisp routine in my plan view routine.

thx

www.ausaca.blogspot.com
Do you know all about the Roof Object? Learn it's secrets
http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLD9BF5D8FF70CD3DF&feature=view_all
Valued Mentor
jmcintyre
Posts: 647
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
Message 10 of 14 (903 Views)

Re: ACA2011 - keeps jumping to perspective view

06-09-2010 11:28 AM in reply to: ntellery

Another reason to avoid 2011.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.