AutoCAD Architecture General Discussion

AutoCAD Architecture General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
ccastelein
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎09-20-2005
Message 1 of 10 (1,037 Views)

ACA 2013 custom hatch list not alphabetical

1037 Views, 9 Replies
11-07-2012 08:15 AM

Custom Hatch list in ACA 2013 (64 bit win 7) shows the list of hatches in a completely random order...

ie. not alphabetical.

 

maxsort variable does nothing....

 

any ideas?

Active Contributor
ccastelein
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎09-20-2005
Message 2 of 10 (996 Views)

Re: ACA 2013 custom hatch list not alphabetical

11-16-2012 06:26 AM in reply to: ccastelein
Product Support
MichaelBussiere2
Posts: 365
Registered: ‎11-09-2009
Message 3 of 10 (923 Views)

Re: ACA 2013 custom hatch list not alphabetical

01-15-2013 07:30 AM in reply to: ccastelein

In this case the custom hatch patterns (not supplied by Autodesk) should be added to the .PAT file for use within the program.  If upon adding the hatch does not work it may need to be recreated.  Once this has been confirmed to work (the custom hatch) I would recommend adjusting your list to reflect a manual approach within the .PAT file to test and see if the patterns then are alphabetical.  By default our patterns are sorted within this file.  My second recommendation in conjunction with the first would be to add custom hatches to end of the .pat file and add them alphabetical to one another (not the stock hatches).

 

Please Note:  Before you adjust these files and customize I would strongly urge making a copy of this file for customizing versus manipulating the stock file.  This will help establish a backup you can refer back to upon building your own custom hatch library.

 

For reference I have included a helpful link below on working with hatches within the AutoCAD platform (same across the board).

 

AutoCAD Hatch Pattern Overview:  http://www.simplecad.com/autocad-hatch-patterns-overview 

 

Adding Custom Hatch to ACAD Products:  http://cad-notes.com/2012/04/add-custom-pattern-to-autocad/ 



Michael Bussiere II
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.
Product Support
MichaelBussiere2
Posts: 365
Registered: ‎11-09-2009
Message 4 of 10 (907 Views)

Re: ACA 2013 custom hatch list not alphabetical

01-17-2013 03:05 PM in reply to: ccastelein

I wanted to check back in with you on this post.  Please let us know within the community if there is anything further we can try to assist with on this hatch inquiry.  Thank you and we look forward to your reply update.



Michael Bussiere II
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.
New Member
ceskew
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-30-2008
Message 5 of 10 (863 Views)

Re: ACA 2013 custom hatch list not alphabetical

02-11-2013 09:31 AM in reply to: MichaelBussiere2

I saw this post and thought I would give it a shot.  This did not help in my case.  Even though I add the custom hatch(.txt) to the end of the acad.pat, the custom hatch does not show up anywhere in the hatch dialog box.

 

I too have recently noticed that the Custom Hatch Patterns are no longer in alphabetical order and are completly random on the Custom Tab of the Hatch Dialog box.  The list was alphabetic up until about 3 weeks ago.  In our case, a couple things that occured in that timeframe was; 1. upgraded server (copied files from one server to another) or 2.  Upgrading to ACAD13 from ACAD12.  Now when I even go back to 12 the lists are also random.

 

The way I have had the custom hatches set up for the last 10 years and it has worked perfectly, is that each Custom Hatch is defined in its own .pat file.  These .pat files (240+ files) are located in a directory on the server and all of my workstations have this directory located in their searchpaths.  If in any case I need a new pattern, I create it and save it to the directory for everyone to use.

 

In conjunction with the Hatch Patterns being randomnized, for some reason it has also randomized my list of Printers/Plotters(.pc3) in the Plot Dialog drop down list.  I have attached some screen shots of the lists.

Active Contributor
ccastelein
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎09-20-2005
Message 6 of 10 (844 Views)

Re: ACA 2013 custom hatch list not alphabetical

02-12-2013 02:02 PM in reply to: ccastelein

That is what happend to us... we had our dell server crash and had a temporary IOMEGA drive (that added a .thumbnails folder to every folder on the drive ARRRGGH) and then bought two new QNAP's and ported everthing over to those.. things have worked fine since then but as per the topic of this post, our hatches dont sort properly.

Active Contributor
ccastelein
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎09-20-2005
Message 7 of 10 (813 Views)

Re: ACA 2013 custom hatch list not alphabetical

02-20-2013 11:40 AM in reply to: ccastelein

Now that i re-read this, i checked my plotters list and they too are not listed alphabetical....

my system printers are, but our server .pc3 plotters are not...

 

this sounds like a server/autocad communications problem

 

any progress on this Autodesk? (and no, im not going to integrate my custom .pats into acad.pat file. i cant imagine a bigger waste of my time)

Active Contributor
ccastelein
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎09-20-2005
Message 8 of 10 (810 Views)

Re: ACA 2013 custom hatch list not alphabetical

02-20-2013 12:45 PM in reply to: ccastelein

My solution, because i just cant wait for autodesk to fix it....

 

I copied all my .pats from the server to my hard drive and changed my mapping location to my C: drive.

 

This solved the list of custom hatches not listing alphabetically.

 

hope this helps someone.

 

New Member
ceskew
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-30-2008
Message 9 of 10 (805 Views)

Re: ACA 2013 custom hatch list not alphabetical

02-20-2013 01:31 PM in reply to: ccastelein

Meant to send an update a couple weeks ago.  Yes, It seems to be a Server to AutoDesk reading issue.

 

Copying the Patterns and PC3 files to your local work station does correct the issue and puts them in alphabetical order.

 

Issue would be that you would no longer have network driven standards and you would need to copy the files to each individual machine.  This is a nuiscance when you have several work stations.

Product Support
MichaelBussiere2
Posts: 365
Registered: ‎11-09-2009
Message 10 of 10 (780 Views)

Re: ACA 2013 custom hatch list not alphabetical

02-28-2013 07:43 AM in reply to: ceskew

Thank you for your posts.  In this case I would urge users to navigate tot eh link below to further express the need the for this feature expansion in the AutoCAD products directly to our Development team.  The link below is a powerful link and is a great resource to speak directly to our Program Managers about concerns, request, feature thoughts, etc to then enable a round table discussion with developers and quality assurance testers to help in future releases and updates to the software’s.  I have included this link below and I again would urge users in the industry to voice this need and others that may arise in the future to our development team.  Thank you.

 

Feedback Link: http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=1109794



Michael Bussiere II
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.