AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
*Expert Elite*
sbrusco
Posts: 1,144
Registered: ‎07-27-2000
Message 1 of 20 (7,033 Views)
Accepted Solution

Zoom with Wheel is Different in 2013

7033 Views, 19 Replies
05-24-2012 04:28 AM

HI All,

 

This may seem minor but if there is a quick fix...

 

Prior to 2013, after i zoomed to extents with a double-pick on the mouse wheel, i could do a quick (one detent) roll to zoom out and then another quick roll to zoom back in and it would, in effect, perform a zoom scale factor equal to about a 0.9x. What i'm seeing in 2013 is the two quick rolls bring me back to the zoom extents.

 

I couldn't find any sysvar (*zoom* or *zm*) that would control this. Is there any way to return to this semi-automatic "ZOOM" "0.9x"?

 

Sal


*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,237
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 2 of 20 (7,022 Views)

Re: Zoom with Wheel is Different in 2013

05-24-2012 05:46 AM in reply to: sbrusco

Try ZOOMFACTOR

*Expert Elite*
sbrusco
Posts: 1,144
Registered: ‎07-27-2000
Message 3 of 20 (7,020 Views)

Re: Zoom with Wheel is Different in 2013

05-24-2012 05:52 AM in reply to: Patchy

Thanks for your reply Patchy,

 

This seems to be related but since both the zoom in and zoom out with the wheel use the same "factor" i get what i described. It seems as though prior to 2013, the zoom in and zoom out with the wheel had different settings like zoomfactorIN = 55 and zoomfactorOUT = 60???

 

I'm going to compare all the sysvars from 2011 and 2013 and see where they're different and i'll let you know.

 

Sal


Contributor
gvice
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎06-09-2003
Message 4 of 20 (7,018 Views)

Re: Zoom with Wheel is Different in 2013

05-24-2012 05:57 AM in reply to: sbrusco

Try the command: zoomfactor, not sure about your .9x zoom, the default is 60, I set mine at 100 which is the max.  It enables less roll clicks to zoom in or out.  But like I said not sure what zoom percentage will get your .9x.  The range is 3-100.

*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,303
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 20 (7,012 Views)

Re: Zoom with Wheel is Different in 2013

05-24-2012 06:21 AM in reply to: sbrusco

You are correct. 2013 behavior is different, and the difference is undocumented (as of today).

 

This was confirmed by an Autodesk employee, in the comments of this blog post. To see the comment and further conversation about this issue, scroll down in the comments about 3/4 of the way, and look for a comment by Dieter Schlaepfer on 14 May 2012 at 9:55 pm

*Expert Elite*
sbrusco
Posts: 1,144
Registered: ‎07-27-2000
Message 6 of 20 (7,008 Views)

Re: Zoom with Wheel is Different in 2013

05-24-2012 06:29 AM in reply to: rkmcswain

Thanks R.K.McSwain,

 

This is exactly what i was missing, and continue to miss.

Well, as they say, "that's not a bug, its a new feature."

 

Sal


Member
danseguin
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-14-2009
Message 7 of 20 (6,862 Views)

Re: Zoom with Wheel is Different in 2013

06-26-2012 05:48 AM in reply to: sbrusco

Hello.

I am also quite upset that this was changed and nothing can be done to rectify it so far...

I'm not sure why something like this would get changed after being the standard for so many years...

 

I've been using autocad on and off for more than 15 years, and I don't get the change..

 

I'm wondering if things are getting switched to try and copy Solidworks or something..??..

 

To me I find Autodesk is much better, so I hope they don't 'sell-out' to please a few new people.

 

Anywho, I still love Autocad and I hope this gets fixed extremely soon, because I miss that feature a lot.

 

 

Thanks a lot for the answers in this post. (R.K. McSwain and Sal) 

Now I can stop wasting my time trying to find a variable to change..

 

Dan S

*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,303
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 8 of 20 (6,846 Views)

Re: Zoom with Wheel is Different in 2013

06-26-2012 08:35 AM in reply to: danseguin

danseguin wrote:

Hello.

I am also quite upset that this was changed and nothing can be done to rectify it so far...

I'm not sure why something like this would get changed after being the standard for so many years...

 

I've been using autocad on and off for more than 15 years, and I don't get the change..

 


I'm just curious as to why this is a significant change for some people. I didn't even notice until it was pointed out, and then after comparing the two, the 2013 method of equal zooming makes sense to me. What is the appeal of having the wheel zoom out a different amount than it zooms in?

 

Regardless if a change is popular or not, my hope is that they will start documenting stuff like this. When you are working with multiple versions, it's helpful to be able to refer to the docs for a certain version and find out how something is supposed to work.

Member
danseguin
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-14-2009
Message 9 of 20 (6,841 Views)

Re: Zoom with Wheel is Different in 2013

06-26-2012 08:57 AM in reply to: rkmcswain

Hi R.K. McSwain.

 

For me, I use a lot of gradient, hatch and superhatch for colours on my stuff, and sometimes it is hard for autocad to recognize the boundaries of which I am trying to fill-in..  (let's say for a long narrow 1/8" band on slighltly larger areas than normally required, without having a closed polyline or segment to select...)

 

That's one example I can think of right now.

 

I now use the realtime zoom function to fit the area in my screen as big as I can, in order to be able to click in the narrow band.  It just made it easier and quicker for me to zoom out then in a few times to get the size that I needed.

 

It's hard to explain...  It's not as big a deal as it sounds like in my post earlier...  I just realized that it sounds worse than I originally intended it to sound.  It's just a new habbit to form.  That's all.

 

Thanks for your concern and desire to understand..

Have a great day.

 

 

 

Active Contributor
ceaves
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎02-28-2006
Message 10 of 20 (4,331 Views)

Re: Zoom with Wheel is Different in 2013

04-08-2013 08:36 AM in reply to: sbrusco

I miss this feature as well.

I've spent a lot of time trying to figure out how to get it back. At least I won't have to waste time on that anymore.

All they would have to do is have two separate ZOOMFACTOR's. One for forward and one for back.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.