AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,432
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 1 of 14 (579 Views)

Would you lease AutoCAD (and/or verticals) if you could?

579 Views, 13 Replies
01-03-2013 05:48 AM
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,784
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 2 of 14 (529 Views)

Re: Would you lease AutoCAD (and/or verticals) if you could?

01-05-2013 02:01 AM in reply to: pendean
first steps along the road to cloud based software subscription model.....??

i can see the value of the described method for certain short term uses
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,432
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 3 of 14 (518 Views)

Re: Would you lease AutoCAD (and/or verticals) if you could?

01-05-2013 06:44 AM in reply to: pendean
I think so too: imagine a need to hire consultants or temp staff for a project, it would be great to lease extra seats for 30-60-90-120-150-180 days at a fraction of a full license.And bill for it to boot as a project expense (rather than an outright software purchase which is harder to bill a client for).
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,784
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 4 of 14 (507 Views)

Re: Would you lease AutoCAD (and/or verticals) if you could?

01-06-2013 02:50 AM in reply to: pendean
.... as long as they still offer the standalone products and keep updating/"improving" them.

however if people are using the "software as a service model", then they are unlikely to put up with the current levels of bugs in the software which may lead to quicker fixes?
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
Civil3DReminders.com
Posts: 2,478
Registered: ‎10-13-2005
Message 5 of 14 (492 Views)

Re: Would you lease AutoCAD (and/or verticals) if you could?

01-06-2013 06:59 PM in reply to: neilyj

I think it would lead to faster bug fixes as long as Autodesk's competitors also switch to this model since it would be easier to switch to a competitor.

Civil Reminders
http://blog.civil3dreminders.com/
http://www.CivilReminders.com/
*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,070
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 6 of 14 (478 Views)

Re: Would you lease AutoCAD (and/or verticals) if you could?

01-07-2013 02:15 AM in reply to: pendean

Hi,

 

my 2c: what happens with my data when the lease time ended? I can't open my data anymore. That might work better with AutoCAD based software as I can use DwgTrueView for opening and plotting DWG's, but what's with Revit, what's with 3DS-Max files?

It's a step to "I'm not any more owner of my data".

 

Next issue might raise if I want to use my data a year or two later ... I will then have to lease the next release (or whatever release is current then). Again, that might not be a problem for all as upgrading of data work's ok with 3DS-Max, but e.g. for Civil3D or looking to texture-mapping issues when upgrading from AutoCAD 2010 to 2012 or 2013 ... Then you have to work hours for getting the project back to live before you can start your work.

So if I would think about leasing I would verify that I can lease an old version years later too.

 

Just thoughts ... animierte smilies sonstige other

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
New Member
ThotS
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-17-2013
Message 7 of 14 (315 Views)

Re: Would you lease AutoCAD (and/or verticals) if you could?

07-17-2013 02:16 PM in reply to: pendean

Can one lease AutoCAD?

I do not want full price until my business starts up.

 

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,320
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 8 of 14 (313 Views)

Re: Would you lease AutoCAD (and/or verticals) if you could?

07-17-2013 02:18 PM in reply to: ThotS

no you can not

autodesk doesn't offer this with their products

*Expert Elite*
dbroad
Posts: 1,560
Registered: ‎08-16-2007
Message 9 of 14 (300 Views)

Re: Would you lease AutoCAD (and/or verticals) if you could?

07-17-2013 02:48 PM in reply to: pendean

Sounds good but not really.  What if you let the lease lapse and a day after it lapses you actually need to open the document you just created?  Annual subscription makes more sense because the long term costs are lower. (versus $199 for a 90 day lease for a single product).

Mentor
Lineabove
Posts: 216
Registered: ‎06-30-2008
Message 10 of 14 (289 Views)

Re: Would you lease AutoCAD (and/or verticals) if you could?

07-17-2013 05:47 PM in reply to: dbroad

My quick answer.

 

NO.

 

I wish the subscription.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.